Avis sur Wayfair | Glassdoor.be

Avis sur Wayfair

Mis à jour le sept. 17, 2019

Pour filtrer les avis, ou .

1695 avis trouvés

3.3
ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
Tendances des évaluationsTendances des évaluations
58%
Recommandent à un ami
78%
Approuvent le PDG
Wayfair CEO Niraj Shah
Niraj Shah
1.138 évaluations
  1. Avis en vedette
    Utile (7)

    « Great Place to Grow »

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Équipe dirigeante
    Employé actuel - Recruiter à Boston, MA
    Recommande
    Point de vue positif
    Approuve le PDG

    Je travaille chez Wayfair à temps plein depuis plus d'un an

    Avantages

    It's a great place to learn, be challenged, and develop your career. There are endless opportunities to lead projects, learn from intelligent colleagues, and develop new skills, all in an exciting, very fast-paced environment. You feel supported by senior leadership who actually want to see you succeed and grow and will give you opportunities to lead and drive strategy for the business. Wayfair also has a fantastic... company culture with great work/life balance. We work hard, but we have a lot of fun as well!

    Dérouler

    Inconvénients

    Leveling/titling at Wayfair is a little interesting and doesn't always seem to match with years of experience. Most people seem to come in at the same level, regardless of the prior years of experience they have, and they tend to down-level people quite frequently from where they were at previous companies. That being said, you're given the support and tools to build your career and move up the ladder pretty... quickly.

    Dérouler
    Wayfair2019-03-12
  2. Utile (488)

    « A perfect place to keep your head down »

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Équipe dirigeante
    Ancien employé - Software Engineer à Boston, MA
    Recommande
    Point de vue positif
    Approuve le PDG

    J'ai travaillé chez Wayfair à temps plein plus d'un an

    Avantages

    Wayfair is a fantastic company if you're a software engineer who's looking to keep quiet, and not speak up when management treats you like garbage. And it excels at finding leaders who are willing to go the extra mile to be untrustworthy and make you feel like your job isn't safe (and for real, it's not).

    Inconvénients

    Let's talk. The company has been growing like crazy, and one thing that was never thought about was "can we actually hire at a sustainable rate, and scale accordingly?" The answer was no on both counts. Software engineers at Wayfair have a history of disappearing. People who enter labs have an especially low success rate (70% make it through, and less than 50% last a whole year). It's basically their way to... run people through a burnout gauntlet, and see who survives. And then you have the stories of the people who come in to work and are just asked to resign. You'll see hints of it here on Glassdoor if you dig, and it's even worse than what you read. They actually gathered all the engineers for a big meeting at the beginning of this year. And they said that they were sorry that people felt scared and were sad that people felt like management didn't care. Which is exactly how we felt. They promised that their door was open, and they were going to work hard to set things right. One person out of 500 stood up and asked a really cutting question. AND THEN THEY FIRED HIM! And there were 3 completely different official reasons given about it. It's crazy. The leaders also started up an engineering meeting to keep everyone on the same page and answer anonymous questions. One time someone asked why we couldn't get snow days off, because it was tough to shovel for 3 to 4 hours and still work an 8 hour day. So the leaders proceeded to talk down to us and reprimand us for even thinking about asking a question like this. Turnover has been high over the past year, and the best people are leaving. This worries management, but they still have no idea that the problem is actually them creating a terrible environment. So if you're a good person who cares about the person next to you and leaving things better than you found them, don't bother applying here. But if you're not, and you just want to keep your head down and not question anything, then this is the perfect place for you. And if that's what you want, Wayfair gets 5 stars. Amazing career opportunities if you want to have the same job forever. Incredible senior management that value untrustworthiness. A fantastic culture of watching people next to you disappear. It's truly a perfect company.

    Dérouler

    Conseils à la direction

    There is literally no hope for this company unless the board decides to fire most of the C-level executives and directors. This place is a lost cause.

    Wayfair2017-05-12

    Réponse de Wayfair

    November 13, 2017Engineering Director

    First, I wanted to thank you for providing feedback. Second, I am very sorry to hear that your experience was far from ideal. I know it can be hard to give feedback if you feel management is the problem, but leadership would love to learn about these issues to refine the Wayfair employee ...

    Dérouler
  3. Utile (1)

    « Great place to work! »

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Équipe dirigeante
    Employé actuel - Associate Director Engineering à Boston, MA
    Recommande
    Point de vue positif
    Approuve le PDG

    Je travaille chez Wayfair à temps plein depuis moins d'un an

    Avantages

    I've been at Wayfair for 6 months and, over the course of my 30+ year career, it is by far one of the best environments I've been in. Wayfair pays a lot of attention to culture, as a result the lines of communication are open and the employees are all playing for the same team; there doesn't seem to be a lot of internal politics. I'm really impressed with the talent of the organization. This is a really... notable accomplishment considering the rate at which Wayfair has been hiring. Employees are given a lot of autonomy to make decisions. The company pivots quickly to either embrace a new, potentially winning, idea or shed an under performing feature. Another thing that is really nice about Wayfair is there is a lot of opportunity for career progression and development. As a manager, I really like this as I have the ability to really help my team reach their potential.

    Dérouler

    Inconvénients

    As a manager it can be hard to attract talent because the interview process is difficult, our base pay is low relative to the rest of the market (made up for with stock and bonus), and there are not a lot of company paid holidays, and health benefits are not on par with the companies we compete with for talent.

    Conseils à la direction

    Things to fix: 1. Increase the number of paid holidays or augment it with Personal Days 2. Increase the entry level weeks off from two to three. 3. Improve the health insurance plan. Things to keep doing: 1. Focus in culture 2. Empower teams to make decisions

    Wayfair2019-09-13
  4. « I wish I could have retired from there »

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Équipe dirigeante
    Ancien employé - Cec à Bryan, TX
    Recommande
    Approuve le PDG

    J'ai travaillé chez Wayfair à temps plein plus d'un an

    Avantages

    There was constant opportunity to learn and grow as a professional.

    Inconvénients

    People who choose to be unhappy there.

    Conseils à la direction

    Keep it up!

    Wayfair2019-09-15
  5. Utile (1)

    « Young & Collaborative Environment »

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Équipe dirigeante
    Employé actuel - Candidate Experience Associate à Boston, MA
    Recommande
    Point de vue positif
    Approuve le PDG

    Je travaille chez Wayfair à temps plein depuis moins d'un an

    Avantages

    Wayfair is a great place to start off on the right foot out of school/ a few years out of post grad. You will meet a lot of really nice young people who are inclusive and willing to help.

    Inconvénients

    Your work/life balance will depend heavily on your department/manger

    Conseils à la direction

    Raise salaries for level 1-2 to reflect cost of living in Boston, MA. Also, there should be more time off/holidays for lower levels or at least an option to work from home 1-2 days a week. You will lose a lot of young talent otherwise.

    Wayfair2019-09-09
  6. « Amazing People, Challenging Work »

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Équipe dirigeante
    Employé actuel - Associate Director, Engineering à Boston, MA
    Recommande
    Point de vue positif
    Approuve le PDG

    Je travaille chez Wayfair à temps plein depuis plus d'un an

    Avantages

    Wayfair has been an amazing place to work. It's a very collaborative environment, a cool office, and so many opportunities. It's the type of place where people are encouraged to pursue the work/projects/roles that they're interested in, passionate about, or skilled at. Basically, if there's something you want to pursue, you aren't told no. You're expected to put together a plan, build consensus for your ideas, and... make it happen. I've been here just over two years and I've worked previously at everything from small startups to companies much larger than Wayfair. I like that Wayfair has a small company feel and attitude in a lot of ways, but at the same time there are so many smart, helpful people to bounce ideas off of and work together with. We're very results-driven, and people are open to change.

    Dérouler

    Inconvénients

    The coffee is not great, but I've found that if you select double espresso on the machines, and add that to a cup of ice, with a little milk, it's pretty ok. Another downside is code review taking longer than it probably should, but there is an engineering-wide effort to put some new tools and processes in place to address that, and it looks quite promising.

    Wayfair2019-09-11
  7. « Love my work place! »

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Équipe dirigeante
    Employé actuel - Senior Onboarding Account Manager à Boston, MA
    Recommande
    Point de vue positif
    Approuve le PDG

    Je travaille chez Wayfair à temps plein depuis plus d'un an

    Avantages

    Such a great work environment/culture. Managers really want you to excel and place you where you want to be in the long-run.

    Inconvénients

    Although we work cross-functionally, I wish there was more information provided to us on the company as a whole.

    Wayfair2019-09-11
  8. « Own your career development »

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Équipe dirigeante
    Employé actuel - Software Engineering Manager (App) à Boston, MA
    Recommande
    Point de vue positif
    Approuve le PDG

    Je travaille chez Wayfair à temps plein depuis plus d'un an

    Avantages

    Amazing place to learn how to be an effective engineer - both from the technological side and also from the business side. Good salary, regular review cycles and promotions.

    Inconvénients

    Culture of peer reviews can be somewhat intense at times. NPS scores used for upward feedback in reviews.

    Wayfair2019-09-09
  9. « Growth, growth, growth! »

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Équipe dirigeante
    Employé actuel - Engineering Director à Boston, MA
    Recommande
    Point de vue positif
    Approuve le PDG

    Je travaille chez Wayfair à temps plein depuis moins d'un an

    Avantages

    - Growing company with many career growth opportunities in management and in the technical track - Great people who contribute to the success of Wayfair at all levels with a strong sense of ownership - Work with cutting edge technologies - Transparent leadership committed to the success of the company and its employees - Great office location - Fun active culture with regular team building outings - Free... coffee, juice, snacks, beer...

    Dérouler

    Inconvénients

    - Growing so fast makes it hard to keep the same core culture across the company but holding on for now even though there are some inconsistencies between teams - As part of growing, we can diversify engineering roles even more to keep engineers doing what they do best - Sometimes it can be hard to find conference rooms (side effect of the fast growth)

    Conseils à la direction

    Let's make sure that as we continue to grow, we try to keep Wayfair as a great place to work

    Wayfair2019-09-10
  10. Utile (5)

    « Overall good place to work. »

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Équipe dirigeante
    Employé actuel - Software Engineer à Boston, MA
    Recommande
    Point de vue positif
    Pas d'avis sur le PDG

    Je travaille chez Wayfair à temps plein depuis plus de 3 ans

    Avantages

    Compensation is VERY generous, work-life balance is great. Can work from home whenever needed, for doctor's appointments or what not.

    Inconvénients

    The barest minimum PTO. Only 6 paid holidays, and no sign from management that they're willing to budge on that. Communication is often poor between teams, leading to lots of lost time/unnecessary refactors which could've been avoided if requirements were properly hammered out before work started. Too many Project Managers muddying the waters, without soliciting engineering's feedback.

    Wayfair2019-08-28
1695 avis trouvés
</>Intégrer