Avis sur Vertex Pharmaceuticals | Glassdoor.be

Avis sur Vertex Pharmaceuticals

Mis à jour le 20 sept. 2019

Pour filtrer les avis, ou .

321 avis trouvés

3.6
ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
Tendances des évaluationsTendances des évaluations
67%
Recommandent à un ami
79%
Approuvent le PDG
Vertex Pharmaceuticals CEO Jeffrey Leiden, M.D., Ph.D
Jeffrey Leiden, M.D., Ph.D
151 évaluations
  1. « Dynamique en plein développement »

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Équipe dirigeante
    Ancien employé - Employé anonyme 
    Recommande
    Point de vue positif
    Approuve le PDG

    J'ai travaillé chez Vertex Pharmaceuticals à temps plein

    Avantages

    Petite structure dynamique en plein développement

    Inconvénients

    Aucun. Organisation en pleine évolution

    Vertex Pharmaceuticals2019-03-13
  2. « Best work culture within Big Pharma »

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Équipe dirigeante
    Employé actuel - Manager à Boston, MA
    Recommande
    Point de vue positif
    Approuve le PDG

    Je travaille chez Vertex Pharmaceuticals à temps plein depuis moins d'un an

    Avantages

    Simply the best work culture due to co-located team, strong internal cross-functional rotations, price premium in monopoly market and good leadership

    Inconvénients

    Might not be the most digitally savvy, because of the lack of competition in current therapeutic areas

    Conseils à la direction

    Never let hold of your work culture. Be careful while hiring new people with string technical expertise that can help manage categories like pain, but lacks Vertex values.

    Vertex Pharmaceuticals2019-09-20
  3. « EXCELLENT COMPANY TO WORK FOR »

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Équipe dirigeante
    Employé actuel - Senior Buyer à Boston, MA
    Recommande
    Point de vue positif
    Approuve le PDG

    Je travaille chez Vertex Pharmaceuticals à temps plein depuis plus de 3 ans

    Avantages

    Competitive salary. Incredible benefits. Free stock options. Perfect Seaport location. State of the art amenities. Wonderful culture and environment to work

    Inconvénients

    Uncertainty of executive leadership and future pipeline goals

    Vertex Pharmaceuticals2019-09-05

    Réponse de Vertex Pharmaceuticals

    September 9, 2019Vertex Pharmaceuticals

    Thank you for your review. We appreciate the positive feedback.

  4. Utile (1)

    « Sometimes Diversity is Discriminatory »

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Équipe dirigeante
    Ancien employé - Senior Manager à Boston, MA
    Ne recommande pas
    Point de vue négatif
    Pas d'avis sur le PDG

    J'ai travaillé chez Vertex Pharmaceuticals à temps plein plus de 10 ans

    Avantages

    Had some great years here until the new crew took over.

    Inconvénients

    Currently it is a rudderless ship full of manipulative self promoting snakes. If you are a white male BEWARE. Their diversity model does not include you. In fact, the more they hold down, the more "diverse" they appear. Best move I made was leaving.

    Conseils à la direction

    Good luck. The Boston area is about to get much more competetive and you people are going to have difficulty hiring legit workers instead of shmoozers.

    Vertex Pharmaceuticals2019-09-19
  5. Utile (6)

    « STOP! »

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Équipe dirigeante
    Ancien employé - Scientist à Boston, MA
    Ne recommande pas
    Point de vue négatif
    N'approuve pas le PDG

    J'ai travaillé chez Vertex Pharmaceuticals à temps plein plus de 8 ans

    Avantages

    -Benefits -Pay -Location -Some people are smart and fun to be around

    Inconvénients

    -Work/life balance STILL non-existent -Required to multitask to ineffiency and burn out -The churn of logistics disables the science -Constant chaos, constant sprint, very disorganized

    Conseils à la direction

    To top management: STOP! We.need.more.mid-level.scientists.in.CMC.to.work.here.to.meet.the.timelines.otherwise.slow.them.down! Stop putting CMC management in a bind! Without CMC you have NOTHING to put into the clinic, NOTHING! Hire more full time, mid-level employees at RSL! Why do you think your model works to keep burning people out? It is NOT productive, NOT sustainable, and A COMPLIANCE RISK! Stop making... people stressed out and suffer, causing them to lash out at their direct reports, peers, and their own management!

    Dérouler
    Vertex Pharmaceuticals2019-09-12

    Réponse de Vertex Pharmaceuticals

    September 16, 2019Vertex Pharmaceuticals

    Thank you for your review. We will make sure that we provide your review to the proper department and will try and improve on what you have pointed out.

  6. Utile (7)

    « Want a life? Don't work here »

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Équipe dirigeante
    Employé actuel - Manager à Boston, MA
    Ne recommande pas
    Point de vue positif
    Approuve le PDG

    Je travaille chez Vertex Pharmaceuticals à temps plein depuis plus de 10 ans

    Avantages

    Benefits, PTO, compensation, location, facilities

    Inconvénients

    - Some parts of the company work all the time - including Thanksgiving and Christmas. If you're not working nights and weekends, you're "not committed." - Outdated model of needing to see "butts in the chair" despite the craziness this causes employees (who are working around the clock) - Lack of leadership in some functions - Micromanagement from all levels of leadership, yet senior managers are overwhelmed and... can't make decisions - Favoritism

    Dérouler

    Conseils à la direction

    None - They're not interested in what the peanut gallery thinks.

    Vertex Pharmaceuticals2019-09-09

    Réponse de Vertex Pharmaceuticals

    September 16, 2019Vertex Pharmaceuticals

    Thank your for taking the time to write your review. We take feedback very seriously and will make sure yours is provided to the right departments.

  7. Utile (8)

    « All talk, no walk »

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    Employé actuel - GMDA à Boston, MA

    Je travaille chez Vertex Pharmaceuticals à temps plein depuis plus de 5 ans

    Avantages

    Great salary and benefits: -10%+ yearly bonuses with 20-50% stock awards that vest over 3 years. -4 weeks vacation to start and company shut down between Christmas and New year -$300/month commuter benefit, charitable donation matching, and $125/month student loan payment  -401k is just OK with 100% match for up to 3% and 50% match for an additional 1-3% I am lucky that I work on a team with a manager who is... supportive, empathetic, and reasonable. The people I work closest with are smart, helpful, and generally easy to work with. Like most places, your experience will vary depending on the department and immediate team. Vertex as a whole is extremely successful, and I take pride in working for a company that focuses on rare genetic diseases and research.

    Dérouler

    Inconvénients

    All the comments about senior management in GMDA are spot-on. The comment about adding barriers instead of value is particularly accurate. Extra layers of process and review add inefficiencies and confusion. Decision makers are either unresponsive, unreasonable, or can't agree with each other. They also want their hands in every. little. thing.  Vertex talks a big talk about wanting to support its employees, help... them grow, maintain work-life balance, "push decision making down and out" (please), but never follows through. There is a lot of unnecessary pressure and finger-pointing that leads to fear and burnout. They badger and bribe employees to complete an "optional" development plan so that they can say they got 100% participation and claim they did something to support employee development; whether the content of these plans is actually useful is another story. Vertex also talks big about innovation and excellence, but, in my department in particular, opportunities are decided by seniority instead of merit. I am told time and again that I'm ahead of my peers who have been here longer, and yet they get most of the choice projects and growth opportunities. People are ridiculously sensitive about fairness.

    Dérouler

    Conseils à la direction

    You can't keep pushing drugs through the clinic at back-breaking speed by having employees work (and re-work) endlessly. You need to get MORE EFFICIENT. Stop changing things at the last minute. Establish clear processes and STICK TO THEM. Listen to your seasoned workers and you might actually get it right the first time. Invest in technology. 

    Vertex Pharmaceuticals2019-08-24

    Réponse de Vertex Pharmaceuticals

    September 3, 2019Vertex Pharmaceuticals

    Thank you for taking the time in posting your review. We take feedback seriously and are working on the issues you wrote about. We will make sure your feedback is sent to the leadership team and HR.

  8. Utile (1)

    « Great Potential, Managers need to support subordinates better!! »

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Équipe dirigeante
    Employé actuel - Co-Op Student à Boston, MA
    Recommande
    Point de vue positif
    Approuve le PDG

    Je travaille chez Vertex Pharmaceuticals à temps plein depuis moins d'un an

    Avantages

    Awesome work, great pay, potential for amazing opportunities, some of the most experienced and smart people..

    Inconvénients

    People here often become tunnel visioned because the strenuous deadline, need more flexibility for actually working efficiently.. Politics is one of the worst things here, can make working here toxic(needs to stop, really!!)

    Conseils à la direction

    You have amazing people as managers and people in general, please advice them to be more free in training and shaping entry level and mid level employees for the future. I sincerely believe you can make one of the best institution in every way. Upper Management should focus on efficiently working on one finalized plan/or a limited number of plans and see those through instead of having every other group do... something else entirely. Again, you have amazing people!! give them new responsibilities, give promotions more frequently, help them grow. Hire more fresh minds

    Dérouler
    Vertex Pharmaceuticals2019-09-04

    Réponse de Vertex Pharmaceuticals

    September 9, 2019Vertex Pharmaceuticals

    Thank you for your feedback. We will make sure to send your comments to the proper departments.

  9. Utile (11)

    « I Hope Management Sees this... »

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Équipe dirigeante
    Ancien employé - Anonymous Employee à Boston, MA
    Ne recommande pas
    Point de vue positif
    Approuve le PDG

    J'ai travaillé chez Vertex Pharmaceuticals à temps plein plus de 3 ans

    Avantages

    Very supportive company in the community. Brilliant support of the patients who are the #1 in our eyes. I heard there's chance for growth, outside of my department. Pretty good benefits package!

    Inconvénients

    Can I be honest? My department didn't promote based on achievement and hard work. It was a popularity contest. I've watched people come and go, regardless of their stellar performance and potential. I've seen people with drive and proven delivery sit in the same position for more than a year while others come and get promoted for being in the "in" club. It's very discouraging and HR or UPPER UPPER management... needs to do something about that. You're going to lose a lot of incredible talent, or are losing... You can tell the new employees reviews (< 6 months) vs. the seasoned (> 6 months) based on the happiness factor. There is poor visibility, and no promotions based on merit. Buyer beware....

    Dérouler

    Conseils à la direction

    Give recognition and promotions to those who are driven, deliver results, aren't afraid to fail and learn from it. Not because you're part of the popular group.

    Vertex Pharmaceuticals2019-08-21

    Réponse de Vertex Pharmaceuticals

    August 23, 2019Vertex Pharmaceuticals

    We appreciate you taking the time to post your review. We will make sure to provide your comments to HR and the Executive Committee. Thank you.

  10. Utile (2)

    « Seems a great place until you've worked there a few months »

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Équipe dirigeante
    Ancien employé - Manager 
    Ne recommande pas
    Point de vue négatif
    N'approuve pas le PDG

    J'ai travaillé chez Vertex Pharmaceuticals à temps plein moins d'un an

    Avantages

    Did some good things like Friday drinks, free food and fruit, and a fairly nice working environment, celebrated things like Black History Month and LGBT Month and a pretty good salary

    Inconvénients

    Poor management, poor communication, WfH was almost non-existent, no flexibility, constantly changing goals and an expectation that you're on 24/7. Holidays without your mobile phone are frowned upon

    Vertex Pharmaceuticals2019-09-02
321 avis trouvés