Avis sur Explore Learning | Glassdoor.be

Avis sur Explore Learning

Dernière mise à jour : 18 septembre 2018
262 avis

Filtrer

Filtrer

Contrat PermanentTemps Partiel

4,0
StarStarStarStarStar
Tendances des évaluationsTendances des évaluations
Recom­mandent
Approuvent du PDG
Explore Learning CEO Bill Mills
Bill Mills
81 Évaluations

262 Avis des employés

Trier: PopulairesÉvaluationDate

  1. Utile (2)

    « The AD role is what you make it, so make it a good one! »

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Dirigeants
    Employé actuel - Assistant Director
    Employé actuel - Assistant Director
    Recommande
    Point de vue positif
    Approuve le PDG

    Je travaille chez Explore Learning à plein temps (Plus d'un an)

    Avantages

    Well, what can I say?

    I was in the role for over a year and I had the best of times, and equally the most stressful of times. As ADs are predominantly fresh out of university, understanding the world of management can be quite the learning curve if you have never done it before - when they say real responsibility from Day 1, they wholeheartedly mean it!

    The role itself is very diverse, no two days are generally the same because of the different roles that you have as an AD and the way you plan the day to tackle the most pressing priorities. Whilst some elements are repeated (everyday you know you will be making sales calls, preparing and holding PCs) your abilities grow as you do them more and more.

    I held all of the responsibility areas that an AD can have which means I can now say I have been in charge of recruitment, marketing, training and development of tutors, rota, additional content classes, long term customer retention, financial management, schools coordinator that included two National Competitions... the list goes on! This is the key part, the role is what YOU make it, so make sure you give it 100%.

    Your actions have a direct impact on the day to day running of the centre so be prepared to be questioned on them and learn from both your successes and mistakes in the role, as this is such a good role for your professional development.

    And it has been said countless times, but the majority of people you meet in Explore Learning are some of the kindest most hardworking people you will ever meet, and this supportive environment means help is always there with a friendly smile to help push you along the way. Inevitably you will have off days and these people will rub you up the wrong way, but you get that in every job!

    There are also the two big annual parties which are absolutely brilliant, but my gosh you do feel like you've earned them after the work you put in. These are great to meet everyone in the company and to share in some well earned back slapping and having a good night, all at the expense of Bill Mills so thanks for those Bill, they were a treat!

    Training days are also a fantastic way to build your knowledge and have the biggest impact you can on your centre. You meet with different ADs and CDs, and it's brilliant sharing your experiences and coming together as a team there to really learn about the role and how you can change your centre fortunes by implementing changes and leading that change!

    I loved the majority of my time at Explore Learning, there were tough times but the important thing is to remember why you are doing the role; yes you are dedicating your time to help the next generation and what a wonderful way to do it, but equally remember you personal reasons why you went into the role; I was big on professional development and I developed this, and a whole tonne of resilience alongside the experiences I had too!

    Inconvénients

    I worked with an array of different managers in my time at Explore Learning, and some relationships were better than others. This is again part and parcel of having a job, but CD actions can have a huge impact on and AD's experience, so the caveat to the best people are that sometimes you will feel under pressure and have no one to turn to if you feel you cannot talk to your CD. It was in these moments that the job seemed most difficult because the team spirit had disappeared. However, this dynamic did change when the team changed, and with the newer team we got on like a house on fire so the people really do make the job! It is the luck of the draw, and whilst it was tough I learned a lot from the other CDs, but different people work in different ways.

    The pay does not reflect the workload of an AD either, but does however match the inexperienced fresh graduate salary so make of this what you will. People generally come to Explore to make a difference and you will gain tonnes of experience, but it takes quite some time to get the big money, and the experience is a big gain in the role! , Yes, there are annual pay reviews and bonuses available to motivate you but it does not motivate everyone. In fact, the monetary rewards were quite disappointing after you have worked your socks off to get to your centre to near your targets, but even after all of that hard work you wouldn't get the bonuses because you had not reached them; numbers are rewarded, not effort. That can be quite demotivating, but again remember why you went in and use that to get you through the tougher times.

    I also struggled for the first few months with the workload, and regularly found myself doing work at home. These expectations changed when the team changed and I realised that this is not the healthiest way to operate, however in the beginning it does feel overwhelming but you will develop strategies to cope with this as time goes on. Seek support if you are feeling too overwhelmed, as there are people there to help with this. This isn't really a con, but be aware of it before you go into the role.

    Hours. I loved having a lie in and this was a definite perk throughout the job, but I had to move away from home as there was not a centre where I wanted, and trying to build a social life in a completely new city finishing at 8pm, getting out for 8:15pm and getting home for 8:30pm, proved difficult because everyone is in bed ready for work the next day! Be prepared; you will have to make an extra effort if you are moving city. The company do provide an interest free loan of £1000 for those moving, but again money isn't everything and having to wait 3 months until you get your first 9-6 day can seem quite a while to build a social life.

    Conseils à la direction

    Retention issues of staff; we get lots of experience but career progression is somewhat limited by vacancy of CD positions or HO positions. Getting tonnes of experience combined with a narrow career path, ADs will go and get another job that has better pay/better conditions and the like. Maybe that's just the modern way, but I do believe if there were other opportunities such as regional AD experts or secondment opportunities with other organisations (e.g. after 18 months go on a 3 month internship with an educational charity/organisation or business that the company has made links with, and then bring that experience back into Explore to help further grow the business) or other ways to develop the professional skill set, with better pay and rewards, people would stay longer.

    Also a diversification of the reward system is something Explore should work on, with initiatives like Team Days where someone from another centre will cover yours, which means the managers can go out and socialise and bond for the day, away from work. This is paramount for teams to build up rapport and is a great reward, much better than a monthly financial bonus and would reward effort too!

    I would also like to say... thank you! I had an absolute blast and I thoroughly enjoyed my time helping the fantastic families we serve each and everyday. The amount of laughs we had in that centre was phenomenal, and the skills I have developed will help me throughout my career to no end. I will always look back on my whole Explore Learning experience as a massive massive positive! To those students and graduates out there, if you've read this and think you're up for the challenge, then give it shot... who knows, it could be the making of you!

    Réponse de Explore Learning

    18 sept. 2018 – Graduate Recruitment Manager

    Many thanks for leaving such a detailed review of your time as an Assistant Director. It sounds like you really made the most of your time working at Explore and have developed so many skills!

    I... Voir plus


  2. « Flexible hours »

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    Ancien employé - Employé anonyme
    Ancien employé - Employé anonyme
    Recommande
    Aucune opinion sur PDG

    J'ai travaillé chez Explore Learning à temps partiel

    Avantages

    Flexible hours which are ideal for students. Making an active impact in children’s lives which is very rewarding.

    Inconvénients

    Starting pay for tutors should be higher (although the new pay system means you can earn up to really high amounts now)

    Réponse de Explore Learning

    10 sept. 2018 – Graduate Recruitment Manager

    Thank you for reviewing your experience as a tutor at Explore Learning. I am pleased you found the role rewarding and flexible around your studies. Thank you for your contribution as a tutor!

    I... Voir plus

  3. « Meh »

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Dirigeants
    Ancien employé - Tutor - Londres, Angleterre (Royaume-Uni)
    Ancien employé - Tutor - Londres, Angleterre (Royaume-Uni)
    Ne recommande pas
    Point de vue neutre
    Aucune opinion sur PDG

    J'ai travaillé chez Explore Learning à temps partiel (Moins d'un an)

    Avantages

    - decent people to talk to
    - nice managers
    - work itself isn't boring

    Inconvénients

    - managers were not understanding to personal problems
    - some employers very snakey, sucked up to managers but acted friendly to new employees


  4. « Best job for students »

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Dirigeants
    Employé actuel - Part Time Tutor - Redditch, Angleterre (Royaume-Uni)
    Employé actuel - Part Time Tutor - Redditch, Angleterre (Royaume-Uni)
    Recommande
    Point de vue neutre
    Aucune opinion sur PDG

    Je travaille chez Explore Learning à temps partiel (Plus d'un an)

    Avantages

    Great benefits from a company who seem to genuinely care about there employees. They have regular awards/giveaways to reward hard work and give out amazon vouchers. They also have 2 tutor socials per year where the tutors can decide on an event to get to know the other tutors out of the centre(e.g. meal, bowling etc...). This job gives you the opportunity to practise a wide range of skills including customer service when working as compere, interacting with the parents, as well as being able to work on your sales techniques when out on RMUs trying to get walkers by to sign up to to the programme.The flexible hours also fit in really well with school/university and the managers have been very accommodating in terms of time off for exams etc...

    Inconvénients

    Doesn't involve much teaching, more support based. This allows the children to move through the work at there own pace however this means that some children waste too much time on easy work and children that require constant monitoring may not be able to get this.

    Réponse de Explore Learning

    4 sept. 2018 – Graduate Recruitment Manager

    Thank you for the lovely review of your experience as a tutor at Explore! It is great to read all about the development and training you have benefitted from and also the variety of your role... Voir plus


  5. « Tutor »

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Dirigeants
    Employé actuel - Tutor - Londres, Angleterre (Royaume-Uni)
    Employé actuel - Tutor - Londres, Angleterre (Royaume-Uni)
    Recommande
    Point de vue positif
    Approuve le PDG

    Je travaille chez Explore Learning à temps partiel (Plus d'un an)

    Avantages

    I really enjoyed working there.

    Inconvénients

    Nothing bad to say about it.

    Réponse de Explore Learning

    4 sept. 2018 – Graduate Recruitment Manager

    Thank you for your review and your contribution as a tutor. All the best for the future!


  6. « Time as part time tutor »

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Dirigeants
    Ancien employé - Employé anonyme
    Ancien employé - Employé anonyme

    J'ai travaillé chez Explore Learning à temps partiel

    Avantages

    Good management
    Great experience working with children

    Inconvénients

    Short hours
    Steep initial learning curve

    Réponse de Explore Learning

    11 sept. 2018 – Graduate Recruitment Manager

    Thanks for reviewing your time as a tutor at Explore! It is great to see that you had a great experience working with children. I will ensure I pass on your feedback to the relevant people. All the... Voir plus


  7. « Tutor »

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Employé actuel - Employé anonyme
    Employé actuel - Employé anonyme

    Je travaille chez Explore Learning à temps partiel

    Avantages

    Really fun working with children.
    Lovely staff

    Inconvénients

    You never know how busy it will be.
    Sometimes told to leave early, which isn't so bad

    Réponse de Explore Learning

    4 sept. 2018 – Graduate Recruitment Manager

    Thanks for reviewing your role as a tutor at Explore - it is great you have fun working with the children, and that all your colleagues are lovely! All the best and thank you for your contribution as... Voir plus

  8. « TUTOR - Great job, poor management »

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Dirigeants
    Ancien employé - Employé anonyme
    Ancien employé - Employé anonyme
    Recommande
    Point de vue positif
    Approuve le PDG

    J'ai travaillé chez Explore Learning à temps partiel

    Avantages

    I had a LOT of fun going to work each day with Explore Learning. My particular branch had such a diverse array of children that would attend so no shift would ever quite be the same. I built great relationships with the children and the fact you sometimes got put as a playtime monitor was a plus.

    A great job for building on people skills, skills working with children, maths and english skills as well as problem solving.

    Inconvénients

    The management were in their early-mid twenties and were fresh from university. I know there are acceptions but generally people of this age and experience do not fare well being chucked into management roles and head-of-branch positions. The way my Explore Learning was managed was attrocious. A few employees didn't see a paycheque for almost 3 months.

    They were lovely people but I felt the running of the centre was, at times, a bit of a shambles.

    Conseils à la direction

    Hire more experienced people for managerial positions who have a bit more life experience.

    Réponse de Explore Learning

    10 sept. 2018 – Graduate Recruitment Manager

    Thank you for reviewing your experience as a tutor in one of our centres. It is wonderful to read about the relationships you built with the children and that you had a lot of fun at work. Thank you... Voir plus


  9. Utile (2)

    « Assistant Director »

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Dirigeants
    Ancien employé - Employé anonyme
    Ancien employé - Employé anonyme
    Ne recommande pas

    J'ai travaillé chez Explore Learning en Contrat Permanent

    Avantages

    - Dynamic work environment
    - Tutors were brilliant
    - Loved working alongside kids and their families (friendly environment)
    - Ownership of roles and responsibilities
    - Good head office training

    Inconvénients

    - Working hours! (No consideratiom given to personal life)
    - If you're not a particular type of person, you're automatically not 'explore' enough.
    - Pushy sales approach
    - Intimidating and sometime unfair management
    - Not always enough guidance within new areas (e.g. very little support within roles and responsibilites)
    - Not enough diversity within staff team
    - Often very stressful working environment

    Conseils à la direction

    Considering an individual more (e.g. well being)

    Réponse de Explore Learning

    4 sept. 2018 – Graduate Recruitment Manager

    Many thanks for reviewing your time as an Assistant Director at Explore. I am pleased you enjoyed working with the kids and families and benefitted from the training.

    I am sorry to read there... Voir plus


  10. Utile (2)

    « Cheap Company with Terrible Management Standards »

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Dirigeants
    Ancien employé - Tutor - Warrington, North West England, Angleterre (Royaume-Uni)
    Ancien employé - Tutor - Warrington, North West England, Angleterre (Royaume-Uni)
    Ne recommande pas
    Point de vue négatif
    Aucune opinion sur PDG

    J'ai travaillé chez Explore Learning à temps partiel (Plus d'un an)

    Avantages

    - At least I got paid (allbeit at a terrible rate)

    Inconvénients

    - The pay was horrendous, starting at £4.50/hour at aged 17 and only increasing to £5.25 after a year (I left soon after).
    -You are expected to arrive 15 mins early but are never paid for this, so over a month you lose out on what it probably about 4 hours of pay.
    - You are contracted for 8-12 hours per week, but understaffing due to high tutor-turnover (go figure, everyone leaves as it's crap!), you will actually often be put on the rota for around 18-20 hours per week. You cannot change this or argue that it goes against your contract without causing a fuss and they will not pay you overtime for the hours worked above the value in the contract.
    - No overtime or special rate for bank holidays.
    - Managers were all 22-24 and had no prior experience, meaning that they could be very unprofessional.

    Conseils à la direction

    Get Centre Managers in who aren't fresh out of university! Pay your staff properly and stop taking advantage of young college and university students who desperately need the work!

    Réponse de Explore Learning

    4 sept. 2018 – Graduate Recruitment Manager

    Thank you for taking the time to review your experience of working as a Tutor in our Warrington centre.

    I am not sure from your review when you worked for us, as the pay rates are slightly... Voir plus


Affichage 262 de 263 avis
Réinitialiser les filtres