Avis sur C Space | Glassdoor.be

Avis sur C Space

Mis à jour le Sep 15, 2019

Pour filtrer les avis, ou .

154 avis trouvés

3.3
ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
Tendances des évaluationsTendances des évaluations
51%
Recommandent à un ami
76%
Approuvent le PDG
C Space CEO Charles Trevail  (no image)
Charles Trevail
59 évaluations
  1. Utile (4)

    « Engaging work for lackluster pay »

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Équipe dirigeante
    Ancien employé - Consultant à Boston, MA
    Recommande
    Point de vue neutre
    Approuve le PDG

    J'ai travaillé chez C Space à temps plein plus de 3 ans

    Avantages

    - Brilliant colleagues - High visibility within client organizations - Responsibility given when it is earned and asked for - Entrepreneurial culture - Self-aware organization always trying to deliver a better employee experience

    Inconvénients

    - Pay is terrible - "Client-first" mentally can create martyrdom culture - Vision for the business is wishy-washy, creating confusion about where to place your bets to align yourself with future of business

    Conseils à la direction

    New hires prior to my departure were all very promising, most of all within the people operations roles and leadership. Continue building the culture that group has started, and bring pay up with the value employees deliver (which - shocker - may mean charging clients more for our services).

    C Space2019-09-06

    Réponse de C Space

    September 18, 2019Chief People & Operations Officer

    Thanks for taking the time to provide this feedback. I'm glad that you enjoyed your time with us and appreciated the culture we're building and the incredible people who work here. We know everything isn't perfect, and I'm encouraged to see you valued our levels of self-awareness around what works and what doesn't. I'm probably biased (as I'm part of our People & Operations team :)), but it's also great to hear that you feel we're positively impacting C Space culture. It's something we're really focused on and what gets us out of bed in the morning. Thanks for your candor around where we can do better. We discussed these themes at a staff meeting off the back of a recent employee engagement survey where we committed to clarifying our compensation philosophy and helping people work through the tensions of delivering great work to clients and needing to push back and 'lead' them, not just respond re-actively to their demands. As you know, we're in the midst of a transformation. 62% (of the 92% of our team who responded) feel that we've articulated our vision well. The rest think we can do better. I tend to agree and this is a live topic of conversation in the business right now. It's tough forging a new path as a customer agency. It's exciting to be part of the change. It creates opportunities. But it can also create ambiguity and uncertainty and we're working on helping people deal with that as we move into our planning for 2020. Thanks again and all the best with whatever you're up to post C Space!

    Réduire
  2. Utile (6)

    « Sinking ship w. horrible compensation, unclear vision, and chaos »

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Équipe dirigeante
    Employé actuel - Associate Consultant 
    Ne recommande pas
    Point de vue négatif
    N'approuve pas le PDG

    Je travaille chez C Space à temps plein

    Avantages

    - Coworkers are kind and willing to lend a hand, some from elite schools and intellectually driven, think high performing psych major from Tufts U -Leadership is mostly transparent as I’m sure they will be in responding to this review - Get to build C Space as a company since we are transitioning -Even for jr employees, opportunities to reach up and do higher-level work - Work hard, play hard mentality with... some fun social events and lots of laughs, great for people with a sense of humor and bringing their full selves to work

    Dérouler

    Inconvénients

    - No training. Leadership will defend the new learning program but really you will be thrown into the fire as soon as you start - I have to secretly look for a part time job to supplement my pay because I can’t afford to pay student loans with a C Space salary -insane turnover in my teams largely due to salary and resentment people develop towards C Space before they leave, also leaving no institutional knowledge... behind -half my time spent w. IT figuring out laptop crashes, software crashes, or losing all my progress on my report when the screen goes black - Too much focus on being consultants makes leadership openly disparage our market research work which IS the bulk of what we do. It’s like a cult.. -Too Boston focused including which schools we hire from [tier 1 liberal arts schools or tier 2 Boston-area schools] - Constant chaos. No one knows what anyone else is doing. Random account assignments and then you are yelled at for going over your assigned hours - CEO and leadership is too far removed from the work and don’t work as long hours as jr employees do ever - Jr employees do menial work while our competitors have automated these tasks 5 years ago. These employees then have to work like crazy to get the menial stuff done to gain actual skills by reaching up - New Omnicom promotion and pay increase policies make it even harder to get promoted and get a raise -ironically nonsensical branding of ourselves when we are supposed to be consultants to brands (??]

    Dérouler

    Conseils à la direction

    It’s time to realize that C Space is a sinking ship. To salvage it, get your life preserve and Take a week to pause everything and seriously reconsider pay, who we hire, and how things operate internally. It’s been 10+ years of employees scraping by on your pay. It’s doable if you’re an East coast rich kid where dad can pay for your rent, vacations and trips home, but if you’re anything but that, life will be a... struggle. No more excuses, us employees have had it.

    Dérouler
    C Space2019-09-15

    Réponse de C Space

    September 18, 2019Chief People & Operations Officer

    Let me start by saying how disappointed and sorry I am that this is how you’re currently experiencing life at C Space. You point to leadership transparency as one of the pros of working at C Space, which is good to hear and something we pride ourselves on. That said, I won’t try to address each of your points in my response since you cover some wide-ranging themes and while I can speak to lots of great initiatives we have in place, that’s not going to be particularly helpful for you. What I will say is that you raise some important points relating to topics that we recently shared in our all-staff meeting that we are committed to working on: clarifying our compensation philosophy, continuing to diversify the mix of talent we bring into the business and providing ‘stretch’ opportunities for our people. You make a really valid point around the tensions of being part of a business which is transforming – on the one hand, it provides growth and stretch opportunities for people, even at a junior level (as you point out)… but on the other, it can at times feel chaotic and like we’re always changing. While we’re transforming the way we work with our clients, the type of work we do for one client may vary a lot from the type of work we do for another. One point I would like to address specifically – that you were yelled at for going over your assigned hours. That’s unacceptable behavior we do not tolerate. It’s also something I’ve never heard of happening before. So, if that’s your experience, I would encourage you to speak with your manager, or someone in your team, or me, and we will address it with the individual concerned. Given your current experience, I’d imagine you may well be looking at other opportunities right now. But if you’re open to a conversation about how we can work with you improve your situation, I’d be happy to chat no matter what office you’re in. I’m available for a phone call, video chat, or in-person meeting so I can get your input on what we can change. You know my email. Thanks, Phil

    Réduire
  3. Utile (4)

    « Good and bad »

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Équipe dirigeante
    Ancien employé - Senior Consultant à Londres, Angleterre
    Ne recommande pas
    Point de vue négatif
    Pas d'avis sur le PDG

    J'ai travaillé chez C Space à temps plein plus de 3 ans

    Avantages

    Great people and work

    Inconvénients

    Stress and poorly resources projects. Few snakes in the grass

    Conseils à la direction

    Focus less on hitting targets and more on employee wellbeing

    C Space2019-08-09
  4. Utile (11)

    « Changed for the worse »

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Équipe dirigeante
    Ancien employé - Consultant à Londres, Angleterre
    Ne recommande pas
    Point de vue négatif
    Pas d'avis sur le PDG

    J'ai travaillé chez C Space à temps plein plus d'un an

    Avantages

    * High calibre. Most people are very intelligent, curious and ambitious * Innovative. Lots of exposure to new research techniques * Lots of the people are nice, friendly, funny. It can be good socially * HR know what they're doing. It just gets lost in the day to day of teams (see below). They must be pulling their hair out

    Inconvénients

    Firstly - it’s not really innovation, it’s ideas and inspiration for clients at the start of the process. There’s not much commercial thinking, market sizing, logistics. They’re often good ideas, so don't dress it up and pretend to be something else But mostly, this year has been a nosedive in terms of culture. They won some awards last year (these were more deserved at the time, plus they put a lot of effort... into submissions), but since it's gone a bit wrong. Key things: * Thankless. Long hours for little pay or praise from seniors. Emphasis on feedback culture often used as an excuse to criticise and over-control. Very common to feel patronised * Unfair. The apparently rigorous progression process and some successful people are shouted about, but really it comes down to a manager's opinion. If you're one of the favoured few, great - if not you can be stuck * A lot of hot air. Some things feel like vanity/an Instagram post rather than for anyone's benefit * Believes it's more progressive than it is. Some leaders talk about how special/transparent/modern it is - and use that as a sticking plaster for low pay. Reality is a lot of what they talk about is standard in the agency world * Trying to be something it’s not. Self-compares to big, famous consultancies. That’s not why people work here. Bain, McKinsey etc. do a very different kind of work in a different atmosphere for a lot more money. Really competitors are small-medium market research agencies

    Dérouler

    Conseils à la direction

    * Value your people or more will go * Go back to how it was 1-2 years ago * Having things like ‘show the love’ stenciled on the wall and over-using the word 'empathy' doesn’t make up for being a bit brutal

    C Space2019-07-11
  5. Utile (6)

    « Chaotic »

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    Employé actuel - Consultant 

    Je travaille chez C Space à temps plein

    Avantages

    Lots of growth opportunities if you have the patience

    Inconvénients

    Left hand does not know what the right hand is doing

    C Space2019-07-13

    Réponse de C Space

    July 16, 2019Senior Director of HR

    Thank you for posting your review of C Space. It sounds like you’re having a mixed experience so far (not sure how long you’ve been with us). We certainly believe that there are many opportunities to learn and grow here across client accounts and teams as well as growth to new responsibilities. Like anything worthwhile it can take time, but our people enjoy new challenges often within a few months of tenure. The “chaos” you seem to feel is likely due to the growth we are experiencing, and the movement that creates as teams focus on new challenges while keeping current business and clients happy and well served. As for your comment on the cons, I’m going to assume that is also a byproduct of what you’re experiencing—sometimes as work moves quickly, we can under-communicate with each other, or people may not have the time to read every email that comes their way. That is a challenge we need to continue to focus on, for sure. I hope you’re able to share your experience with your reporting manager and look for their guidance for how best to navigate. If you ever need another sounding board, please seek out an HR or People and Ops Business Partner—we’d love to help! Thanks for your contributions to C Space.

    Réduire
  6. « A truly great place to work at! »

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Équipe dirigeante
    Employé actuel - Associate Consultant à Londres, Angleterre
    Recommande
    Point de vue positif
    Approuve le PDG

    Je travaille chez C Space à temps plein depuis moins d'un an

    Avantages

    -The perfect balance between a studious and fun workplace -Genuine opportunity for personal and career growth -The leadership listens and everyone, including senior people, is approachable -Strong company culture that encourages teamwork and allows you to be yourself -Exposure to some very interesting projects early on in your career -Responsibilities early on in your career -Feedback culture upwards and... downwards -If you prove yourself you aren't micromanaged -Work from home if you need to

    Dérouler

    Inconvénients

    -With the company having grown a lot recently, it sometimes feel like we are lacking in space to do great work (crowded open space/not enough meeting rooms) -Some accounts can be a bit tedious (but you can have an open conversation about it with your managers) -Not all managers or account leads are equally good. Some are just average, and it all depends a lot on their personality, but I suppose that is the same in... every workplace. At least, there is a strong feedback culture where you are able to voice these sort of issues. -We do work hard and the pay is average -You can wait for a while before getting promoted, so despite great work, you can feel like you're hitting a plateau with how well the company rewards you. Promotions/pay rise do come eventually, but the wait can feel a bit long.

    Dérouler

    Conseils à la direction

    Keep on being open-minded Please adapt the workplace to a great number of people If you can, increase wages and find other ways to reward people in tangible ways (the charm of a nomination at Friday @4 does wear off eventually), if you haven't got any promotions to offer.

    C Space2019-07-03
  7. « Associate Consultant »

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Équipe dirigeante
    Employé actuel - Associate Consultant 
    Recommande
    Point de vue neutre
    Pas d'avis sur le PDG

    Je travaille chez C Space à temps plein depuis plus d'un an

    Avantages

    Good culture, beneficial work, driven environment

    Inconvénients

    Tough advancement, lots of admin work

    C Space2019-06-20
  8. Utile (3)

    « Great Place to Learn for Short Term »

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Équipe dirigeante
    Employé actuel - Associate à Boston, MA
    Point de vue neutre
    Pas d'avis sur le PDG

    Je travaille chez C Space à temps plein depuis plus d'un an

    Avantages

    If you are straight out of college with a passion for market research/consumer insights, C Space is an amazing place to learn the ropes. Vibrant culture, and tons of millennials to befriend and learn from.

    Inconvénients

    Honestly speaking, you are overworked and extremely underpaid. There is no nicer way of putting it. Everyone you speak to will say they enjoy many aspects of the job, but it's hard to appreciate it when you can barely scrape by in Boston (I don't even know how the NY folks are handling it over there). It's assumed here that after about 2 years here you're gone.

    Conseils à la direction

    It's hard to provide everyone the pay they want (and maybe even deserve) - most of us get that. But at least have upper management recognize lower level employees? We are like workhorses over here.

    C Space2019-06-10

    Réponse de C Space

    June 21, 2019Senior Director of HR

    Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. I’m happy you’re learning a lot, making great connections and enjoying our dynamic culture, which is something we pride ourselves on. I’m sorry to hear that you’ve felt undervalued in terms of compensation and recognition. Though our entry level compensation falls within benchmarks, compensation at all levels is something that we’re looking at closely as it impacts how people see themselves growing with us. We know that increasing our salaries is tied to evaluating and increasing our pricing and are hopeful that as we continue to grow and improve our profitability we’re enabled to do so. Salaries are higher in NY and SF and we want people to feel good about what they earn and be paid fairly for their contributions. If you haven’t yet, I recommend getting in touch with a member of the People team who can direct you to the right comp contact to learn more about your specific progression. Thank you for all your hard work to date!

    Réduire
  9. Utile (7)

    « Great clients, lots to learn, leadership gets in the way »

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Équipe dirigeante
    Ancien employé - Consultant à Boston, MA
    Ne recommande pas
    Point de vue neutre
    N'approuve pas le PDG

    J'ai travaillé chez C Space à temps plein plus de 3 ans

    Avantages

    Very interesting work, a lot of learning opportunities, great clients. You will leave C Space a smarter person with broader viewpoints.

    Inconvénients

    Leadership is hands down the part that drives things down. If you are bringing in the accounts and money, you can treat people as poorly as you wish, no one will do anything about it. Bullying is common and it feels like every man for himself. Promotions and bonuses are inconsistent and based on popularity. It is easy to be hardworking and valued by clients and under appreciated by your manager and your team.

    Conseils à la direction

    You are a people agency so think about how you treat your people.

    C Space2019-06-12

    Réponse de C Space

    June 17, 2019Senior Director of HR

    Thanks for taking the time to leave a review. I’m glad that you feel that people leave C Space smarter and with a broader perspective, and that you had a lot of learning opportunities during the 4 years you spent with us. Your comments about your views on leadership are disappointing to hear and I’m sorry this was how you experienced things. I don’t know the specifics of what you’re referring to, and I don’t know whether you ever raised these concerns with your reporting manager, Director or to anyone on our people team, but I know that bullying violates our cultural goals (as well as policy) and we take such concerns extremely seriously. If you feel comfortable reaching out directly, I’d be keen to have a conversation about what you observed or experienced. Also, I’m sorry that your perception was that our promotion and bonus program is applied inconsistently. The current process involves reporting managers collecting 360 feedback on the performance of the person being put up for promotion and them working with their direct report to demonstrate they are meeting the required competencies – excelling in their current role and showing potential for the role above. Promotion cases are reviewed by team Directors and then reviewed by the central team to ensure that standards are being applied consistently across the company. Of course, people won’t necessarily always agree with the decisions made, and it’s sometimes challenging to effectively communicate across our business exactly why one person has been promoted and another hasn’t. We are striving to build a culture where people get honest feedback about their strengths and development areas and know where they stand. It’s something we remain focused on, and something that can be challenging at times as we evolve and transform our business. We spend a lot of time thinking about how we can build an amazing culture that helps our people grow and develop. We don’t get everything right, but we’re constantly working on getting better. I wish you all the best with your next step, and as I said, please feel free to get in touch if you’d like to provide more specific feedback on your experiences so we can act on it.

    Réduire
  10. Utile (3)

    « The Secret Sauce is fun, but don't stay so long you melt into it »

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Équipe dirigeante
    Ancien employé - Employé anonyme à Boston, MA
    Recommande
    Point de vue positif
    Pas d'avis sur le PDG

    J'ai travaillé chez C Space à temps plein plus d'un an

    Avantages

    C Space offers wide access to market strategies for many different companies and industries giving employees unique insight into the Fortune 500 corporate space. The company is well set up to facilitate eventually switching offices internationally or working remotely full time depending on the team and role. The education reimbursement benefit is a helpful tool as well with minimal blockers to actually using it and... being reimbursed. The facilities team in the Boston office keeps the place running really smoothly. The onboarding experience for new employees has been the best of my career. While on certain teams it seems that the work/life balance was less than ideal, my team had wonderfully clear expectations so while we certainly all worked 40 hour weeks, there was no expectation that we work 41.

    Dérouler

    Inconvénients

    Switching teams laterally within the company is a very opaque affair. What the company calls "merit" raises (because not everyone receives them) are, in practice, laughably small cost of living adjustments. The promotion process is slow and catty. Assume upon accepting an offer at C Space, that the salary you come in at will be very close to the salary you leave at and that the role may change function but not title.... There is a very distinct corporate culture at C Space that shouldn't be questioned openly. The company makes its money on qualitative not quantitative research which mostly amounts to copy and paste jobs from survey participants to client-facing decks; if one starts to introduce actual statistical manipulation outside of the tiny R&D team, the culture police will shut that down. I don't believe that's a malevolent function so much as the company predominantly hires business and liberal arts majors straight out of college not statistics people. At the end of the day, C Space is a consultancy that is a small part of massive international company and it feels that way. I would still recommend C Space as a short-term place to work if the subject matter is interesting and the commute reasonable, but I wouldn't recommend buckling in for the long haul of more than 2 years.

    Dérouler

    Conseils à la direction

    Please start taking action on those in positions of authority that mock their subordinates' appearance and demographic attributes.

    C Space2019-06-06

    Réponse de C Space

    June 17, 2019Senior Director of HR

    Thank you for your thorough and candid review. We are pleased to see that you feel you benefited from our New Employee Orientation Experience (NEOX), as well as our Tuition Reimbursement program. We continue to be proud of our facilities, administrative, and operational teams and work collaboratively across teams to make sure we are working as cohesively as possible. It’s disappointing to hear that you feel that switching teams was an “opaque affair”. That’s certainly not our intention, but at times, it can be challenging to move people from one team to another when we are growing fast and transforming the way we do things. In response to feedback, just this week we published a new set of guidelines clarifying how people can apply for internal opportunities and what the process is. We’ve recently done a lot of work clarifying our promotions process too, and it’s something we continue to refine based on feedback from the team. Over the past two years we have promoted 25% of the business on average each year. Almost 100% of staff receive an annual merit increase unless there are performance challenges. VPs and executive leadership tend to have base salary reviewed every two years. Merit increases vary according to performance over the past year. We are sorry to hear that you felt your career pathway was unclear and challenging to navigate. We see this as a shared responsibility between each employee and their reporting manager at C Space. We’re committed to building a culture of learning - our current performance review process includes goal setting, 360 feedback, a competency framework of what’s expected by level, 90 day pitches for new hires to their Reporting Managers and monthly Reporting Manager training. We continue to develop and launch new L&D opportunities for people in response to demands from the team and the needs of our clients. An example of this was the recent re-launch of our quantitative research training series to provide people with the opportunity to widen their skillset. We have also run sessions that focus more on the application of, and theory and pedagogy behind qualitative research including: Empathic Listening, Storytelling, and Moderating. Thank you again for sharing your personal perspective and for your willingness to recommend C Space to prospective employees. We wish you the best with your future endeavors.

    Réduire
154 avis trouvés
</>Intégrer