Avis sur Zillow | Glassdoor.be

Avis sur Zillow

Dernière mise à jour : 6 décembre 2018
692 avis

Filtrer

Filtrer


4,1
StarStarStarStarStar
Tendances des évaluationsTendances des évaluations
Recom­mandent
Approuvent le PDG
Zillow CEO Spencer Rascoff
Spencer Rascoff
554 Évaluations

Avis des employés

Trier: PopulairesÉvaluationDate

  1. Utile (12)

    « Grateful but had to move on.. »

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Dirigeants
    Ancien employé - Client Engagement Specialist - Denver, CO (États-Unis)
    Ancien employé - Client Engagement Specialist - Denver, CO (États-Unis)
    Ne recommande pas
    Point de vue neutre
    Approuve le PDG

    J'ai travaillé chez Zillow en contrat permanent (Plus d'un an)

    Avantages

    I started at Zillow in 2016. Premier Agent Concierge was new and I thought it was innovative. I wasn't thrilled at working in a call center environment but the benefits, pay and people outweighed that. The biggest reason why I stayed at Zillow is because of the top notch benefits and the people. I would say about a third of the managers I had were excellent leaders. They kept me there. They didn't just say they valued my opinions-- their actions SHOWED me they did. Ultimately, Zillow gave me experience in a corporate environment and helped me develop skills that I now use in my dream job. For that, I am grateful!

    Inconvénients

    The first year in PAC was great. People had their complaints but I realized that every company had their office politics. However, as the company grew FAST-- things changed. Management changed and department moral declined. I would go to all hands meetings and Spencer and Amy would deeply inspire me. Then I would go back to a department that felt so separate from the rest of the company. We weren't included in many functions that the rest of the company participated in. I realize that business needs dictate scheduling but there is always balance. Management spent so much time trying to convince us that we were no different than any other department when they could have exercised humility and OWNED IT. WE WERE DIFFERENT and you know what? That is okay. All I ever wanted was for management to admit that. Also, I understand that mistakes are made in corporate environments. That does not frustrate me. What frustrated me was that genuine apologies were never made, only excuses. I'm fairly confident I will receive a response to this assuring me that "management did admit when they were wrong!" An apology is not "well, you know, possibly the messaging was not the most effective and we are looking into maybe changing this. However, the reason this happened is because we were in a time crunch and we were doing the best we could with the resources we had." An apology does not include excuses. It is simply, "We are sorry for our actions and we will strive to do better."
    Thankfully, for my last bit of time at ZG-- my team lead kept me engaged. They are the reason I stayed and I am so grateful for their encouragement and effective leadership skills.
    Additionally, leadership was constantly asking for honesty and feedback. So, in skip levels, occasionally, I would speak up. I learned quickly that this was not effective. Generally, the response from management was: "Thank you so much for sharing! However, do you realize how good you have it here? Most jobs didn't have free food and top notch benefits." I must have heard 10 different versions of that answer. Again, I understand that you cannot just allow people to sit and complain without bringing up possible resolutions. I am not suggesting that managers should sit and allow people to vent without end. If your employees are venting in a kind and professional way, as a leader, you should listen and do your best to help them problem solve without making them feel like their thoughts and ideas are not valid. PAC had so much potential to be an amazing department (even with scheduling differences and limited access to functions and meetings). Unfortunately, during the time of my recent departure moral was continuing to decline. There are great people in PAC. People who care and who lead with kindness and humility. It is my hope that those people will take action and grab hold of the amazing idea that PAC stemmed from. I genuinely believe that the solution to many of the problems here is honesty and a willingness to be humble when you make a mistake.

    Conseils à la direction

    Repeating myself a bit, simply be honest and transparent. During my years in PAC I cannot tell you how many times I heard the word "transparency" but it was almost never supported by actions. The times when I experienced transparency were (oddly enough) when that word was never mentioned. Here is the thing: I realize that there will always be issues to resolve within companies. My biggest ask is that when you have to tell PAC members that they cannot attend an event that the rest of the company will be at or that they can use their break time to quickly pop in-- OWN IT! Don't sugar coat it. It is what it is and I if you are simply open and real about the reality of the situation people will respond much better.

    Réponse de Zillow

    7 déc. 2018 – VP, Client Experience

    I'm glad you found the benefits and people to be top notch, and that you found excellent leaders in your management. Our goal is always to create an environment that helps drives great results for... Voir plus


  2. « Excelling in Inclusivity, Equity and Belonging »

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Dirigeants
    Employé actuel - Account Manager - Seattle, WA (États-Unis)
    Employé actuel - Account Manager - Seattle, WA (États-Unis)
    Recommande
    Point de vue positif
    Approuve le PDG

    Je travaille chez Zillow à plein temps (Plus de 8 ans)

    Avantages

    A lot of companies give lip service when it comes to addressing inequities around sexuality, gender, and diversity in the workplace. Because we were so driven product wise for years it felt like maybe that is all Zillow will be; lip service. Last few years though I am inspired and impressed by the excellent work from C level down in advocating for inclusivity, equity and belonging for everyone.
    It is not easy work and we still have ways to go but I can confidently say we are authentic at Zillow about our commitment. For example, in the past few months, I have been able to communicate and get support around issues of bias that a few years ago I wouldn't have felt safe to address. I can't say enough how valuable this has been.

    If we at Zillow keep going as passionately about this aspect of our culture as we have been the last two to three years we are going to be a model in the technology industry and beyond about the business and cultural value of making all employees feel welcomed and part of an organization. Because of the leadership buy-in, I believe we will continue on this path.

    Also, you work with some of the smartest people in their given specialties. Come in hungry and open to learn you will grow. You will never get bored here if you are curious and you lean in.
    Work-life balance is ample and promoted. Also, it takes a few weeks to realize, wow, you are at a company that is doing groundbreaking, innovative work.

    Inconvénients

    Some in middle management, especially in sales and sales support, have not been as committed as some of our executives and individual contributors.

    Conseils à la direction

    Please keep on keeping on and be willing to work through the challenges that arise in addressing Equity, Belonging and Inclusivity.

    Réponse de Zillow

    20 nov. 2018 – CEO (Spencer Rascoff)

    Thank you for this fabulous review.
    We have definitely been making much more of an effort in this area over the last few years. We still have plenty of room for improvement, but I am proud of how... Voir plus

  3. « Best Company That Actually Lives Their Values »

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Dirigeants
    Employé actuel - Employé anonyme - Phoenix, AZ (États-Unis)
    Employé actuel - Employé anonyme - Phoenix, AZ (États-Unis)
    Recommande
    Point de vue positif
    Approuve le PDG

    Je travaille chez Zillow à plein temps

    Avantages

    Access to upper management at all levels, Transparency of Sr. Leadership, Core Values taken seriously, Focus on people, Great working spaces

    Inconvénients

    Nothing outside of any company that goes through the growing pains of maturing.

    Conseils à la direction

    Keep up the great focus you have on people! Don't start shaving away at Culture as the company scales because that's what truly makes Zillow such a great place to work.


  4. Utile (6)

    « 9 Year Veteran »

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Dirigeants
    Employé actuel - Strategic Business Advisor - Denver, CO (États-Unis)
    Employé actuel - Strategic Business Advisor - Denver, CO (États-Unis)
    Recommande
    Point de vue positif
    Approuve le PDG

    Je travaille chez Zillow à plein temps (Plus de 8 ans)

    Avantages

    9 years ago, I started with a handful of sales generalists at Trulia. We quickly grew from a 5 to 200+ person sales organization, underwent an IPO, and successfully united with the Zillow Group family through an acquisition in 2015.

    I can genuinely say that each year has felt like an entirely new startup company while still preserving the momentum and progress we’re creating. Personally, it has made my 9 years fly by incredibly fast.

    But it’s not just fast and fun times with the BEST benefits and people...

    My time here has proven to me that the leadership at ZG is thoughtful about our future. I absolutely trust that the company can navigate our disruptive industry and is willing to innovate to the degree that most companies seemingly only talk about.

    While I feel like we’re only now at the top of the roller coaster ride, it’s completely reassuring to know the company I’m committed to is equally committed to me both personally and professionally. I’m proud to be part of Zillow Group and am excited for our future.

    Inconvénients

    Every industry is facing change. Zillow is not afraid to embrace change for the long term mission. This requires adaptability and willingness to be uncomfortable which is not for everyone.

    Conseils à la direction

    Continue to "turn on the lights" externally in the industry and internally with employees.

    Réponse de Zillow

    18 oct. 2018 – CEO (Spencer Rascoff)

    Thank you for this great review.
    yes, the company sure has changed in 9 years! But some things have not -- our focus remains on delighting consumers, making sure that our company is a great place... Voir plus


  5. « Great opportunity »

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Dirigeants
    Employé actuel - Client Engagement Specialist - Seattle, WA (États-Unis)
    Employé actuel - Client Engagement Specialist - Seattle, WA (États-Unis)
    Recommande
    Point de vue positif
    Approuve le PDG

    Je travaille chez Zillow à plein temps (Moins d'un an)

    Avantages

    Honestly the best position I've ever had. There is so much this company offers you as a whole, with full paid health benefits, great pay and career development I can't see why anyone would have anything negative to say. Yes we are going through some changes that I can say can be difficult on some people but it has to be done to make the consumers and the agents have the best experience with Zillow. I've worked for companies in the past that would never give you any opportunity to grow and with this company they don't want to hold you back at all. We do work 4/10s but we also get three days off which helps with my schedule perfectly so I can have more time with my children. They also very understanding with your personal issues like sick time, mental health and PTO. When your sick or have a family emergency, no problem. Zillow fully understands what your going through, they will give you the time off you need to help yourself or fix your family issues. Which to me is almost unheard of in other companies I've worked for. No matter if I felt like I was near death I had to go to work in the past. The Affinity groups are great as well, these groups help you build connections with other people in different positions at Zillow so you can promote yourself internally. I love working here and can't wait to see what the future holds for me and for Zillow.

    Inconvénients

    The only con is I wish we can get more notice for changes in the SOPs due to I feel like people feel rushed and more errors occur.

    Conseils à la direction

    Keep up the good work. I see you guys working as hard as you can to make Zillow the best it can be.

    Réponse de Zillow

    8 nov. 2018 – VP, Client Experience

    Thanks for this great review. I agree the speed that we're changing our procedures can sometimes mean you don't have a lot of time to digest them. I appreciate your hard work and effort while we... Voir plus


  6. Utile (7)

    « Lack of action on promises for role »

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Dirigeants
    Employé actuel - Client Engagement Specialist - Seattle, WA (États-Unis)
    Employé actuel - Client Engagement Specialist - Seattle, WA (États-Unis)
    Ne recommande pas
    Point de vue neutre
    Aucune opinion sur PDG

    Je travaille chez Zillow à plein temps (Moins d'un an)

    Avantages

    ZG is a fast moving company. The role has gotta keep up with that, so you'll develop some professional communication skills, fast. Great group of people. Diverse in age and experiences. Lots of networks for different groups of people and interest. A jam room! Benefits, decent pay and snacks don't hurt either.

    Inconvénients

    I just got here and have never felt so insecure about my job, ever. Working in PAC, I always feel unequal to the rest of the company. One of the biggest factors on why i took this role was the promise of growth, opportunities to meet like minded career folk and expand my skill set. I also took this position for the opportunity to attend events like ZG18. What a disappointment. I looked forward to something that was so highly spoken of. I was crushed when no one from our department was permitted to go for more than just the all-hands meeting. There was the option to go before our shifts but what sessions take place at 4:30am or 10:30pm? It makes everyone in the department feel like they are far less important than everyone else. There is such a large emphasis on equity and belonging, as well as promoting general equality in the office. You receive messages telling you to look forward to the future at ZG and the work you're doing is important. Though a kind word is appreciated, I'd like this department to keep to the core values and grow us to be valuable influencer's and developers in this company.

    Conseils à la direction

    Upper Management
    - Guys, communicate with us!
    - Listen to what is concerning us
    - Work with us to make everything preform better
    - Collaborate with our team leads for new projects and new ideas


  7. Utile (1)

    « Sales Executive, Rentals »

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Dirigeants
    Employé actuel - Sales Executive, Rentals - Centennial, CO (États-Unis)
    Employé actuel - Sales Executive, Rentals - Centennial, CO (États-Unis)
    Recommande
    Point de vue positif
    Approuve le PDG

    Je travaille chez Zillow à plein temps (Plus d'un an)

    Avantages

    This is a great company that takes care of its employees. They encourage you to work your way up within the organization, whether that is within your team or not. The rentals division specifically is a fast growing section of Zillow Group, and still has a "start up" feel within a larger company. The product sells itself at times, and as a sales rep you function very independently. Your success is largely determined by your ability to function independently and learning as you go.

    I have been in this role for over a year, and still find it engaging and I am excited to come in to work everyday. Great leadership team, and you are trusted as a team member to get your job done most likely because of their confidence in the extensive interview process.

    Inconvénients

    The "start up" feel is not for everyone, and if you do not like constant change this is not a role for you. Travel can be extensive at times, but it is necessary and you are largely in control of when/where you travel which helps prevent burning out.

    Conseils à la direction

    Zillow Group has a great leadership team within the rentals organization. They are constantly looking for areas of improvement, and acting on these areas of improvement is something that they follow up on which is great. However communication about these changes down the totem pole could be improved at times.

    Réponse de Zillow

    4 nov. 2018 – CEO (Spencer Rascoff)

    Thank you for this great review! I really appreciate it.
    Rentals is a great organization at ZG and I'm glad that you are having a good experience on that team.

  8. « Don't Wake Me Up »

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Dirigeants
    Employé actuel - Marketing Analyst - Seattle, WA (États-Unis)
    Employé actuel - Marketing Analyst - Seattle, WA (États-Unis)
    Recommande
    Point de vue positif
    Approuve le PDG

    Je travaille chez Zillow à plein temps (Moins d'un an)

    Avantages

    Vision - In a tech hub like Seattle there is an excess of great ideas in a very central location and Zillow is no exception to that. The idea itself was grand "creating the worlds largest and most vibrant home buying and selling platform" but it takes the will to think big in order to make a company worth investing in, Zillow has done just that

    Flexibility - When something isn't working Zillow's leadership team is not afraid to retool and rework it's original plan. This is an underrated trait of any company in my opinion because it means that you'll have to admit being wrong, which isn't as easy to do for some C level execs.

    Leadership - speaking of the leadership team: Spencer Rascoff, Jeremy Wacksman, Stan Humphries, Rebekah Bastian, Lionel Lee, Jas Thind, Amy Bohutinsky and the numerous other fantastic, qualified names I've left out on this list are outstanding. They are the engine of this well oiled machine and the company's success is a function of their ability to simply do the right thing.

    Autonomy - there a few sub points to this one for me including how I'm compensated (which is excellent) but I feel everyone should be trusted to do their job, that mean's not being micromanaged or harassed in any way. Zillow has a knack for putting its money where its collective mouth is and employing people who they know fit the culture and then trusting those people to do their job the right way by giving them all of the resources necessary. Excellent.

    I could keep going but I'll cut it short

    Inconvénients

    The Grind - I'll admit, when you're a company as large as ours it can be easy to lose sight of the purpose of your day to day at times. We have high expectations to deliver and at times that can mean doing a lot in a short amount of time with little understanding of who it benefits, it's a numbers game and at times that can make Wednesday afternoon at 3pm a drag.

    Distractions - I used to work for a start up and even then it was hard to keep my email, Slack notifications, distracting open office chatter, and myriad of calendar invites to a minimum so that I could simply work and Zillow is no different. In fact, I would argue that the size of the company makes said distractions a bit of a headache, definitely something to consider if you, like me, struggle with simply staying focused on the task at hand.

    Conseils à la direction

    Continue to build the Community and Culture team. This was an excellent idea and its still in its infancy as a department but as a member of an underrepresented group in tech I can honestly say that I'm planning to stick around for the next few years not because I just love my job so much (which I do) but because I don't feel alone for 9 hrs a day. That goes a long, long way.

    Réponse de Zillow

    26 nov. 2018 – President, Zillow Brand

    Thank you for this great review! I'm so happy you have found a home in Marketing at Zillow Group!


  9. « This is the best ever workplace! »

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Dirigeants
    Employé actuel - Data Analyst - Irvine, CA (États-Unis)
    Employé actuel - Data Analyst - Irvine, CA (États-Unis)
    Recommande
    Approuve le PDG

    Je travaille chez Zillow à plein temps (Plus d'un an)

    Avantages

    This is the best ever workplace! Awesome people and awesome culture! I am feeling I am contributing every day, and doing the coolest thing to help people to find the place where love resides and memories create.

    Inconvénients

    So far so good, not found any for now.

    Conseils à la direction

    NA


  10. Utile (17)

    « Great company, but PAC is a disappointing department »

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Dirigeants
    Employé actuel - Client Engagement Specialist - Denver, CO (États-Unis)
    Employé actuel - Client Engagement Specialist - Denver, CO (États-Unis)
    Ne recommande pas
    Point de vue négatif
    Approuve le PDG

    Je travaille chez Zillow à plein temps (Plus d'un an)

    Avantages

    The perks and benefits of the company are obviously one of the best things about working for the company. Medical/dental/vision all offer great coverage, the well stocked kitchens are great, and the amount of PTO offered is generous.

    Inconvénients

    Unfortunately, the cons of working in PAC seem to outweigh all the benefits the company has to offer. The company is headed in a great direction and does have a bright future, a lot of which depends on what the PAC department does, but they're not set up to fulfill this vision yet. The department is incredibly understaffed, particularly on weekends. This creates a negative environment because we are not living up to our promises and are setting ourselves up for failure. It's hard to remain motivated when you there are times that you simply cannot succeed, just because there are not enough people to do the job needed to be done. On days when the department is not running hours and hours behind schedule, there is still the problem of the job just being mundane and monotonous. For some, it may be an ideal position because it isn't the most mentally challenging job (though it is mentally draining), but for others with more ambition it can be a bit too simple. The Denver office, while growing, does not offer a lot of opportunities for growth in other departments, unless you're wanting to get into a sales role. Most of the job opportunities available will be at the headquarters in Seattle, which is unfortunate for those who do not wish to relocate. There are many other headaches that come with working as a Client Engagement Specialist, such as poor communication and lack of transparency at times, but right now the biggest issue is just the fact that the staffing levels are not set up in a way for us to do our jobs the way we should be doing them. They preach about a 6 Star experience for Beth, yet there are times that we're delivering a 1 star experience, if that. If the company has a specific vision, we should not begin executing it until we can do so in a way that provides our consumers with the service they deserve.

    Conseils à la direction

    Re-evaluate staffing levels, especially on weekends, so that we are not providing a poor consumer experience. Communicate more effectively with all the teams and be more transparent with current issues.

    Réponse de Zillow

    2 nov. 2018 – Vice President, Premier Agent Strategy & Operations

    Thank you for sharing your feedback, and please keep it coming! Best way is to send directly to me at carey@zillowgroup.com.

    Weekend staffing – There have been a couple of unexpected spikes but... Voir plus