Avis de Software Developer chez USAA | Glassdoor.be

Avis de : Software Developer chez USAA

Mis à jour le 14 juil. 2019

Pour filtrer les avis, ou .

83 avis trouvés

3.6
ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
Tendances des évaluationsTendances des évaluations
66%
Recommandent à un ami
77%
Approuvent le PDG
USAA CEO Stuart Parker
Stuart Parker
39 évaluations
  1. "A place to retire"

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Équipe dirigeante
    Employé actuel - Software Developer à San Antonio, TX
    Ne recommande pas
    Point de vue négatif
    Pas d'avis sur le PDG

    Je travaille chez USAA à temps plein depuis plus de 3 ans

    Avantages

    Stable position without the competition present in other companies. Very flexible remote work options as-needed.

    Inconvénients

    IT pay scale is low end. Lackadaisical approach to under performing employees. Arbitrary time requirements on level placements. Incredibly large reliance on '3rd party' contractors.

    Conseils à la direction

    Rethink the IT model. Be thankful San Antonio has very few IT shops to compete against

    USAA2019-07-15
  2. Utile (2)

    "Mission driven company. Technology backward."

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Équipe dirigeante
    Employé actuel - Software Developer & Integrator I à San Antonio, TX
    Recommande
    Point de vue positif
    Approuve le PDG

    Je travaille chez USAA à temps plein

    Avantages

    It is an honor to serve the military and their financial needs by working at USAA. There's a sense of camaraderie and a willingness to help our members out as much as we can inside the company. There's a big drive towards meeting compliance and regulatory requirements which everyone takes as seriously as our CEO.

    Inconvénients

    I work in technology and we still are behind when it comes to using the latest tech. Bureaucracy binds our decisions a lot of the times and our agile mentality is still driven like waterfall methods.

    USAA2019-06-20
  3. "Fantastic company to work for with awesome benefits"

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Équipe dirigeante
    Employé actuel - Software Developer à San Antonio, TX
    Recommande
    Point de vue positif
    Approuve le PDG

    Je travaille chez USAA à temps plein depuis plus de 5 ans

    Avantages

    USAA's values aren't just for members, they are for employees too! Work/life balance is great. Benefits are also top notch (8% 401k match, affordable healthcare, etc).

    Inconvénients

    Opinions on matters can change from team to team. I suppose the same can be said of any large company.

    USAA2019-06-22
  4. Utile (1)

    "Great traditional company"

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Équipe dirigeante
    Ancien employé - Software Developer & Integrator III à San Antonio, TX
    Recommande
    Point de vue positif
    Approuve le PDG

    J'ai travaillé chez USAA à temps plein plus d'un an

    Avantages

    Worked with some amazing - talented people, working on utilizing new technology, offices are tailored for millennial appeal with ping-pong tables/pool, some flexibility to work from home, benefits are great, lots of PTO

    Inconvénients

    Limited offices across the US, mainly in San Antonio, Tx. Company works slowly to put you in roles that you want or have a strong point in. Older technology and slowly transferring into new tech. Full-time remote positions are hard to come by. Very corporate

    Conseils à la direction

    Embrace change/outlook from the younger employees and work on more work/life balance.

    USAA2019-06-14
  5. Utile (2)

    "Downward Spiral"

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Équipe dirigeante
    Ancien employé - Software Developer à San Antonio, TX
    Ne recommande pas
    Point de vue négatif
    N'approuve pas le PDG

    J'ai travaillé chez USAA à temps plein plus de 3 ans

    Avantages

    N/A - There are no real benefits here unless you want to live in San Antonio.

    Inconvénients

    USAA paints a pretty picture but is no different from any competitors. USAA historical under pays and tries to sell the "bonus" as making a position competitive. The reality is the bonus continues to go down each year with no real improvement to base pay. The culture at USAA is largely favorite based. The people who are clueless or generally not skilled will still get ahead if they play up to a manager. The overall...

    Dérouler

    Conseils à la direction

    Upper level management will drive the company into the ground in the name of profits.

    USAA2019-07-07
  6. Utile (1)

    "Decent place to work at"

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Équipe dirigeante
    Employé actuel - Software Developer à San Antonio, TX
    Ne recommande pas
    Point de vue positif
    Approuve le PDG

    Je travaille chez USAA à temps plein depuis moins d'un an

    Avantages

    Job stability, onsite gyms, Starbucks

    Inconvénients

    Not very exciting and very much a typical cubicle type setting

    USAA2019-04-21
  7. Utile (3)

    "Organization is a managerial mess"

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Équipe dirigeante
    Ancien employé - Software Developer 
    Ne recommande pas
    Point de vue négatif
    N'approuve pas le PDG

    J'ai travaillé chez USAA à temps plein moins d'un an

    Avantages

    Time off, nearly impossible to get fired, lax deadlines.

    Inconvénients

    Pay is lower than industry standard. Healthcare plan isn’t competitive. Performance bonus metrics are at mercy of board of directors and at a company level. This does not allow for an individual contributor an opportunity to influence their bonus. Organization lacks proper documentation and standards around non-revenue generating processes. Resistant to change. Lax enforcement of company values and policies. Poorly managed...

    Dérouler

    Conseils à la direction

    Accountability for individuals is non-existent. Worst corporate environment I’ve encountered in my career. This company needs a culture change. Too many people doing the bare minimum and fighting management to actually add value.

    USAA2019-05-10
  8. "Amazing Company!"

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
      Employé actuel - Software Developer 

      Je travaille chez USAA à temps plein

      Avantages

      - Incredible benefits - Great people - Work/Life Balance

      Inconvénients

      - Not as fast paced when it comes to implementing new technology

      USAA2019-03-28
    • Utile (3)

      "Excellent benefits"

      ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
      • Équilibre travail/vie privée
      • Culture et valeurs
      • Opportunités de carrière
      • Rémunération et avantages
      • Équipe dirigeante
      Employé actuel - Software Developer I à San Antonio, TX
      Recommande
      Point de vue positif
      Pas d'avis sur le PDG

      Je travaille chez USAA à temps plein depuis plus de 5 ans

      Avantages

      Industry-standard tooling, 12 week paid Paternity benefit (not just for moms). 8% 401k match, on top of two cash bonuses in the year.

      Inconvénients

      Corporate culture is brain-washy. Emphasis on government regulation, federal oversight and compliance is a huge buzz kill. Innovation is constantly stifled in the name of "Security".

      USAA2019-02-28
    • "Excellent company to work for"

      ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
      • Équilibre travail/vie privée
      • Culture et valeurs
      • Opportunités de carrière
      • Rémunération et avantages
      • Équipe dirigeante
      Employé actuel - Lead Software Developer and Integrator à San Antonio, TX
      Recommande
      Point de vue positif
      Pas d'avis sur le PDG

      Je travaille chez USAA à temps plein depuis plus de 5 ans

      Avantages

      As a private company there are no stock holders around to ruin the company

      Inconvénients

      No cons that you dont find at other companies

      USAA2019-03-09
    83 avis trouvés