Avis d'entreprise sur "work life balance" chez McMillan | Glassdoor.be

Avis d'employés de chez McMillan sur "work life balance"

Mis à jour le 15 mai 2019

Pour filtrer les avis, ou .

4.1
ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
Tendances des évaluationsTendances des évaluations
85%
Recommandent à un ami
McMillan CEO Pierre Paul Samson
Pierre Paul Samson
0 évaluations

Avis sur « work life balance »

Revenir à tous les avis
  1. « Onwards and upwards! »

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Équipe dirigeante
    Employé actuel - Employé anonyme à Ottawa, ON
    Recommande
    Point de vue positif
    Approuve le PDG

    Je travaille chez McMillan à temps plein depuis plus de 3 ans

    Avantages

    Constant personal and professional growth, new challenges every day, and upward momentum. Very talented and passionate coworkers and supportive, transparent leadership. New CEO showing excellent business acumen in navigating the ups and downs of our highly volatile industry with a great sense of integrity and foresight.

    Inconvénients

    Because the nature of our industry is very fast-paced, sometimes it gets very overwhelming and requires some serious time management and organizational skills to maintain a healthy work-life balance.

    Conseils à la direction

    Possibly leverage and use the skills of middle management more often to sharpen business skills and create more fluidity and autonomy throughout the organizational hierarchy. Hire more talents from out of town who have more competitive industry experience and are hungry to compete with global talents. We need more people with a certain level of maturity and perspective that comes with “big cities” background and... experience.

    Dérouler
    McMillan2019-04-17

    Réponse de McMillan

    May 1, 2019CEO

    Thanks for your input. I genuinely appreciate your advice about leveraging the skills of our management team. We have a talented cast across the board with the potential to grow at all levels. I also believe that we’ll grow with the right mix of local and international talent. Our focus is on gathering and leveraging different perspectives to create unique and distinctive work that’ll help us move brands that matter. Best, Pierre Paul

    Réduire
  2. Utile (14)

    « What happened to McMillan? »

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Équipe dirigeante
    Employé actuel - Employé anonyme à Ottawa, ON
    Ne recommande pas
    Point de vue négatif
    N'approuve pas le PDG

    Je travaille chez McMillan à temps plein depuis plus de 3 ans

    Avantages

    This used to be an amazing place to work. The culture was phenomenal. Moral was always high. Work was a bit dull, but still thriving. Work/life balance was decent. Salaries and profit sharing was decent.

    Inconvénients

    Things started going down hill really fast after the new CEO was announced. Empty promises. Failed company ambitions. A major shift in culture. Now, moral is at an all-time low. Clients don’t see us as trusted advisors and work/projects are dwindling. Layoffs are frequent and significant. And the CEO doesn’t even know my name, or my title for that matter.

    Conseils à la direction

    What happened to you guys!? Seriously. Check your egos.

    McMillan2019-04-15

    Réponse de McMillan

    May 1, 2019CEO

    Although it was difficult to read, I appreciate your comment. I can understand that a change in leadership is not always welcomed and that our newest direction may not appeal to you. As I embrace the role of CEO and put in place a plan that I believe will ultimately help us succeed and grow, I admit there are challenges along the way. This past year we had a significant reduction in revenue from a big client and have yet to replace it, thus requiring some layoffs. There’s no doubt about it, it’s really tough to square balancing the books with our culture. And yes, it can have a direct impact on morale. I appreciate your perspective and invite you to reach out to me to talk more about your concerns. The quality of life at work is important to me and it sounds like you may have some good ideas to contribute. Best, Pierre Paul

    Réduire
  3. « Unique, supportive and well-balanced culture »

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Équipe dirigeante
    Ancien employé - Client Services Manager 
    Recommande
    Point de vue positif
    Approuve le PDG

    J'ai travaillé chez McMillan à temps plein plus de 10 ans

    Avantages

    The agency was founded in 1996. So it is young enough to be fresh, exciting and open to new ideas. But it is established enough to have a solid HR function, well-trained and supportive managers, and an excellent work-life balance. As an agency, the clients' needs can often tip that balance during busy times but the agency is very accommodating to balance things out appropriately. It is a very fun, laid-back yet... professional environment. And with clients across the US and Europe, there are opportunities for more global exposure--and from time to time, travel.

    Dérouler

    Inconvénients

    The only cons I can think of are actually consistent with any creative agency of that size (80 people, +/-). Internal communication can be challenging and the inherent 'tension' that can exist between clients and creative pops up now and again.

    Conseils à la direction

    Continue to nurture the amazing culture that exists. Develop talent from within the ranks.

    McMillan2017-05-05
  4. « A great place to work »

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Équipe dirigeante
    Employé actuel - Anonymous 
    Recommande
    Point de vue neutre

    Je travaille chez McMillan à temps plein depuis plus de 3 ans

    Avantages

    I've loved working at McMillan. The people are great - hardworking, fun and caring. I have always felt supported by the management team. My direct manager has my back and has coached me through many situations. She's always available to listen and offer advice. We do work overtime every now and then, but McMillan definitely strives for a good work-life balance. I know that if someone raises the flag that they're... overwhelmed, support will be provided and people will work together to find a solution. We work hard but are compensated in many ways - end of year bonuses, offsite trips, free drink cart/lunches, fun events. The office is closed between Christmas/New Years and on holidays. McMillan also invests in their employees' growth through counselling and conferences.

    Dérouler

    Inconvénients

    Some of the managers do not follow process. It's difficult to keep things moving along while some of the key decision makers in the campaign process are doing their own thing. Also, of the Creative Directors can be very difficult to get ahold of for direction or answers.

    Conseils à la direction

    Enforcing process among managers and creative directors. This will also cut back on people working additional overtime, as the account team/studio team can work to balance workload.

    McMillan2017-02-28
  5. « Great place to work! »

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    Employé actuel - Employé anonyme 
    Recommande
    Point de vue positif
    Approuve le PDG

    Je travaille chez McMillan à temps plein

    Avantages

    McMillan has created a culture that is hard to find elsewhere. They foster collaboration and entrepreneurship while providing challenging work opportunities. The work environment fosters teamwork and creativity and is flexible and laid back.

    Inconvénients

    Work life balance can be challenging at times.

    Conseils à la direction

    Working on B2B has shifted the culture. It’s imperative that management acknowledge and address this. The culture is so embedded in all that McMillan does and it’s what makes it such a special place to work. Keeping the culture alive is critical.

    McMillan2017-02-26
  6. « Great company culture! »

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Équipe dirigeante
    Employé actuel - Employé anonyme 
    Recommande
    Point de vue positif
    Approuve le PDG

    Je travaille chez McMillan à temps plein

    Avantages

    Great company culture Wonderful coworkers who support and lift each-other up Given lots of autonomy Clients with budgets you can really make an impact with Respectful work environment Culture of transparency and accountability QA department Bonus tied to profit

    Inconvénients

    Growing pains - managing growth and maintaining work/life balance

    Conseils à la direction

    Walk around and listen - you might be surprised what you'll learn!

    McMillan2017-01-23
  7. « Is this part optional? »

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Équipe dirigeante
    Employé actuel - Employé anonyme à Ottawa, ON
    Recommande
    Point de vue positif
    Approuve le PDG

    Je travaille chez McMillan à temps plein depuis plus d'un an

    Avantages

    With almost every advertising/marketing agency these days being governed by international holding companies or by a distant c-suite who only observes work from the ledger sheet at their desk, it's refreshing to work somewhere that truly cares about work/life balance. While you may have to work outside a typical 8-hour day or travel, you cannot work in marketing/advertising atmosphere that's more caring, forgiving... and considerate than this one. Everyone is especially nice - a very warm agency environment.

    Dérouler

    Inconvénients

    While the investment of time and attention in client work is extremely high, not everyone is as motivated as others to create 'the best' work. Clients win but sometimes the opportunities can feel slim if you're a creative.

    Conseils à la direction

    As you grow, don't lose the entrepreneurial spirit and warm environment that's been fostered over the past 20 years.

    McMillan2017-01-23
  8. « Review »

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Équipe dirigeante
     
    Ne recommande pas
    Point de vue neutre
    N'approuve pas le PDG

    Je travaille chez McMillan à

    Avantages

    - Great team - Good perks and benefits

    Inconvénients

    - Work/Life balance is hard to maintain - There is an inconsistency of how people are treated, which leads to varied experiences depending on the your position in the company - The salary is low compared to the industry standard - There is barely any movement for advancement and growth - There is a culture of fear: Fear of saying anything bad about the company (people are always scared to lose their jobs)

    Conseils à la direction

    Invest in the employees in your company (salary and promotions). Stop the favouritism and treat people based on their work ethic.

    McMillan2017-02-06

    Réponse de McMillan

    February 22, 2017

    Thanks for your candid feedback. We try our best but, yeah, we don’t have all the answers. If you’re game, please reach out to me or Rob. We’d love to brainstorm on how to make things better. Gordon McMillan

  9. « A special place to work! »

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Équipe dirigeante
    Employé actuel - Employé anonyme à Ottawa, ON
    Recommande
    Point de vue positif
    Approuve le PDG

    Je travaille chez McMillan à temps plein

    Avantages

    A variety of challenging work Clients with budgets you can really make an impact with Flexible work environment Respectful work environment Team environment Culture of transparency and accountability Training programs Integrity Bonus tied to profit

    Inconvénients

    Unpredictability of the business Some work does not always hit the market due to changes on the client side Growing pains - managing growth and maintaining work/life balance

    Conseils à la direction

    Keep doing what you're doing.

    McMillan2017-01-20
  10. « Love McMillan! »

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Équipe dirigeante
    Employé actuel - Account Director à Ottawa, ON
    Recommande
    Point de vue positif
    Approuve le PDG

    Je travaille chez McMillan à temps plein depuis plus de 10 ans

    Avantages

    Fantastic culture - amazingly talented people who want to do amazing things, dogs in the office, lots of fun activities. Emphasis is on doing great work while maintaining a work/life balance. Great location, great space. An executive team who genuinely wants to listen to the team and make things the best they can be. Interesting, challenging clients. Proud to be a member of the McMillan team.

    Inconvénients

    Maintaining the unique McMillan culture as we grow is a challenging endeavour.

    Conseils à la direction

    Keep doing what you're doing!

    McMillan2017-01-20
52 avis trouvés
</>Intégrer