Avis sur EF English First | Glassdoor.be

Avis sur EF English First

Mis à jour le oct. 13, 2019

Pour filtrer les avis, ou .

3.1
ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
Tendances des évaluationsTendances des évaluations
52%
Recommandent à un ami
57%
Approuvent le PDG
EF English First CEO 	Jacob Toren (no image)
Jacob Toren
150 évaluations
  1. « EF Adult Schools »

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Équipe dirigeante
    Employé actuel - Employé anonyme 
    Recommande
    Point de vue positif
    Pas d'avis sur le PDG

    Je travaille chez EF English First à temps plein

    Avantages

    They pay on time and the curriculum is decent.

    Inconvénients

    Bonuses have been removed from contracts.

    EF English First2019-10-13
  2. Utile (2)

    « A decent job that could be better »

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Équipe dirigeante
    Employé actuel - Online English Teacher 

    Je travaille chez EF English First à temps plein

    Avantages

    (1) The system is relatively simple to navigate. (2) You can choose any hours. (3) You can recover from student no shows with writing corrections. (4) The lessons are straightforward and some of the best lesson materials I have ever encountered.

    Inconvénients

    (1) The pay is comparatively low. (2) There is no opportunity for career advancement or raises. (3) Trying to have lessons with people who are extremely low level (who need bilingual teachers) is very frustrating. (4) Trying to have classes with people whose levels and lesson materials are mismatched is very frustrating. (5) People enrolling in the courses without any counseling as to their English... development path is frustrating. (6) Having to accommodate ridiculous custom lesson requests from students. (7) People who do not participate are permitted to remain in group classes.

    Dérouler
    EF English First2019-09-26
  3. « Good place to start, get experience and move onto bigger things »

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Équipe dirigeante
    Employé actuel - Teacher à Jakarta
    Ne recommande pas
    Point de vue neutre
    Pas d'avis sur le PDG

    Je travaille chez EF English First à temps plein depuis plus d'un an

    Avantages

    Easy working hours and friendly people

    Inconvénients

    organisation is not well planned and lack of training. Local staff work 6 day weeks which causes low moral

    Conseils à la direction

    Invest in staff

    EF English First2019-10-13
  4. « Let down »

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Équipe dirigeante
    Ancien employé - Online English Teacher 

    J'ai travaillé chez EF English First à temps plein

    Avantages

    They did give lots of hours to begin with and the schedule is flexible

    Inconvénients

    I was working many hours a week. The pay is lot great, then, I lost my hours and had no work. Contact with try he office is chaotic to say the least

    Conseils à la direction

    Reward hard work, don't penalise us

    EF English First2019-10-10
  5. « Online English Teacher »

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Équipe dirigeante
    Employé actuel - English Teacher à Pékin, Pékin
    Ne recommande pas
    Point de vue négatif
    N'approuve pas le PDG

    Je travaille chez EF English First à temps plein depuis plus de 5 ans

    Avantages

    You get the hours you request so you can work whenever you want and work as many hours per week as you want (probably even 80 if you wanted!).

    Inconvénients

    The salary increases over time are a joke, management is a joke, they have rigid rules and if you break them at all they will be happy to fire you, even if you are one of the top ranked teachers who dozens of students personally request weekly.

    Conseils à la direction

    Offer better promotions / pay increases to teachers as they continue to waste away their lives helping the EF empire grow. Offer teachers who are willing to commit to 40 or more lessons a week health insurance and a 401K option.

    EF English First2019-10-08
  6. « Massive disconnect between management and staff. »

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Équipe dirigeante
    Employé actuel - International English Teacher à Shanghai, Shanghai
    Recommande
    Point de vue neutre
    N'approuve pas le PDG

    Je travaille chez EF English First à temps plein depuis plus d'un an

    Avantages

    Set Schedule Limited Hours Career Progression Lateral Movement Diverse Work Force

    Inconvénients

    Disconnected Management Corporate structure is flawed

    Conseils à la direction

    Standardize the working life between teachers at all centers. Centers are completely disconnected from each other and if you get one that doesn't care about your work life, prepare to be doing lots of extra things on the side in your own time, with no extra compensation.

    EF English First2019-10-09
  7. « Good start in teaching abroad »

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Équipe dirigeante
    Employé actuel - Teacher à Shenzhen, Guangdong
    Recommande
    Point de vue positif
    Pas d'avis sur le PDG

    Je travaille chez EF English First à temps plein depuis moins d'un an

    Avantages

    plenty of progression opportunities and mainly it is a positive working environment.

    Inconvénients

    The pay is lower than other schools and often is longer hours.

    Conseils à la direction

    BE MORE ORGANISED

    EF English First2019-09-23
  8. Utile (1)

    « Suspicious tactics »

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Équipe dirigeante
    Ancien employé - Teacher à Pékin, Pékin
    Ne recommande pas
    Point de vue neutre
    Pas d'avis sur le PDG

    J'ai travaillé chez EF English First à temps plein moins d'un an

    Avantages

    Students are great, curriculum well organised

    Inconvénients

    Longest hours of any teaching job with by far the worst pay. Hours are in theory reasonable, but expectations for preparation and performance are so high that many extra hours every week are required without any possibility of overtime. I have seen employees - even those with the company for several years - in tears at the office due to stress from the workload and insufficient time to deal with it. Their tactics to... keep workers employed under these conditions seem to be a scorched earth policy - where they refuse to provide you with necessary information and documents you need to apply for further visas in the country. Essentially - it seems to be that you finish your contract with EF (which the majority of teachers at my centre do NOT) or you will have to leave. When trying to move to a new job after EF (and having given the requested 2 month notice) I had a Visa/employment helping me with the transition who was tearing her hair out trying to get any legal documents and information from EF. She was beyond suspicious of the company and felt that some of their tactics were borderline illegal. Tread with caution

    Dérouler
    EF English First2019-10-01
  9. « Great Environment »

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Équipe dirigeante
    Ancien employé - Education Manager à Canton, Guangdong
    Recommande
    Point de vue positif
    Approuve le PDG

    J'ai travaillé chez EF English First à temps plein plus de 3 ans

    Avantages

    - Great Environment - Great Company Culture - Friendly Co-Workers (I would call them my brothers-in-arms) - A lot of training (optional, not mandatory ) -

    Inconvénients

    - Promotion Structure is by seniority - Managers never leave so harder for people to get promoted

    Conseils à la direction

    Create more vertical & horizontal job opportunities

    EF English First2019-09-16
  10. Utile (3)

    « Unethical. Torture. »

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Équipe dirigeante
    Ancien employé - Teacher à Shanghai, Shanghai
    Ne recommande pas
    Point de vue négatif
    N'approuve pas le PDG

    J'ai travaillé chez EF English First à temps plein moins d'un an

    Avantages

    Legal visa. You get paid on time. Great coworkers to suffer with.

    Inconvénients

    This is by far the worst job I've ever done. The advertisements give this impression that you will have all the free time to "explore china". But in reality, it's a lie. This is just a factory job. The website (and my recruiter) state that flights are free but even that's misleading. They give you a tiny monthly "flight allowance" on top of your paycheck but upon calculating, it'll require you to work for about... 17 months in order to purchase a regular two-way North American flight: far longer than your one year contract. And the pay: It's terrible and far below the standard for international teachers in Shanghai. They also give you the impression that food and housing would be far lower than reality. After the aformentioned, and taxes, you'll most likely have about 2000 rmb (280 USD) to save. That's barely anything considering how they promised a Western standard of living. *Fun story. I heard from teachers in other cities that they were told that their flights would be covered. However, they actually had to pay for the flight to Shanghai and then EF covers for their transfer flight. What kind of sneaky thing is this? That's like giving a free three course meal but in the end, you have to pay for everything except for the dessert. But don't worry, this cheap, down-to-the-cent attitude is what you'll get throughout working here. Upon landing, I already knew something was off. The school decided to place our hotels in some Holiday Inn 1 HOUR away from the actual head office where we were supposed to meet for "training". During training, which didn't really prep us for anything, they informed us that they will hold our documents "for safekeeping". Like come on we're fully grown adults. Obviously this was suspicious from the get-go. Afterwards, you're sent to your designated center. And oh my god, was it a nightmare. I find out from the senior teachers that multiple people have left and I'm there just to patch up the sinking ship. Oh btw the turnover rate is crazy! Most people never even finish their 1 year contracts and if they do, they almost never stay for another year. What kind of fulltime job has people only staying for 1 YEAR???? I was explicitely told to hide where my family came from, lest it makes it less attractive for the parents to have me as a teacher. Humiliating. A couple days later, I had to witness a local teacher crying due to stress. Now, I'm someone with no prior experience teaching kids (which are most of the teachers). Imagine that you're given 1.5 weeks to observe different classes and then you're thrown into the deep end with a full schedule. And since I joined during Summer course, my schedule was beyond overloaded. They don't schedule enough time for me to prepare each individual class. They leave big multi-hour gaps in your day so that they can legally and financially say that you've only worked 40 hours and nothing more. (Expecting you to use that time to prep. OTHERWISE KNOWN AS WORK). They also expect you to do a lot of unnofficial unpaid duties outside of the office such as doing standardized tests. On most of my working days, I've worked from 8:30am to 10:30pm. And even though my massive center is understaffed, they'll take any kid as long as their parents have money. Even if he's distruptive, destructive, and in my case: loudly wishing for my death. The teachers have no actual power to deal with these situations. Even after all that, the school decided to keep him with zero reprocussions. At this point, I was basically being paid to be bullied and harrassed. When I voiced my concerns, my manager deflected it and suggested I was suffering from culture shock. EF is a business but it has zero respect for itself as a school. This is unheard of in any other teaching facilities or private schools. Oh, and throughout all this, I had no access to my work email. Thereby making my life even more complicated. So yea, you'll be dead tired. And when you're dead tired, they still expect you to be this perfect happy go-lucky teacher. You take all the risk leaving your life behind and moving to China while the company loses nothing. They can fire you on a whim and that's what happened to me. I was let go one day before the end of my probation despite having great reviews from 99 percent of parents and students. (And coincidentally, at the very end of the busiest time of the year). The reason was laughably arbitrary and nitpicky; such as not writing down how I would meet each named student's needs in a classroom, how I decided to teach the 'reading' segment after the break than before, and how I sometimes gave the answer to a struggling student during a review. A review. Not a test. None of the other senior or junior teachers expected this outcome at all. I later find out that most of my students were told "I had resigned due to a family emergency". How insulting is that. At least own up to your actions. (Apparently this is standard procedure for any teacher leaving). Upon termination of my contract, EF did everything they could to prevent me from getting another job. Including witholding my documents that I paid for. -Which is borderline illegal. (These are the same documents that the company promised to reimburse me with but didn't). This kind of unproffesional & spiteful behavior is shockingly stupid. It goes against any business sense at all. Why go out of your way to make your company look worse by alienating your former employees. With only a month to stay in China, and due to EF's obscuring behavior, I had to go to extreme lengths to secure a new visa including speaking to the American consulate, my local connections in Shanghai, and the Chinese Labor Board. Think about how crazy this is: I HAD TO INVOLVE MY GOVERNMENT AND THE CHINESE GOVERNMENT just so I can circumvent EF's childish actions. This job brought me to the breaking point. I was set up to fail. EF doesn't really care about its workers. It's owned by a billionaire but does its best to increase its margins against the physical and psychological wellbeing of its employees. They could improve everyone's lives but just choose not to. The morale of my co-teachers was non existent. Most of them looked disheartened and broken. The company treats you like an idiot; giving you only excuses.

    Dérouler

    Conseils à la direction

    Hire more people. Pay more. Reduce hours. Treat people like human beings instead of expendable puppets. Stop writing fake reviews. How about actually spend the effort to solve the issue. There is something inherently wrong with the company structure and business practice.

    EF English First2019-10-11
392 avis trouvés